
TENNESSEE BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR NURSING HOME 

ADMINISTRATORS 

POLICY ON CONTINUING EDUCATION VIOLATIONS 

 
The Tennessee Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators requires each licensee to 

successfully complete eighteen (18) clock hours of approved continuing education every 

calendar year. Failure to comply with the continuing education requirement may result in 

disciplinary action.  

 

Prior to the institution of any disciplinary proceedings, a letter shall be sent from the board’s 

administrative office to the last known address of record of licensee in the board office stating 

the deficiency and asking that licensee cure the deficiency within ninety (90) days from the date 

of notification. If the deficiency is cured within the 90 days grace period, no disciplinary action 

shall ensue. In the event a Tennessee licensed Nursing Home Administrator is found to be 

deficient in the number of required continuing education (CE) hours for a particular year after 

notification, or fails to cure the deficiency within the allowed grace period, the following shall 

occur:  

 

1.  The licensee will be required to pay a one-time civil penalty in the amount of One Hundred 

Dollars ($100.00). 

 

2.  The licensee must make up the deficient hours that he/she is lacking, plus take an additional 

nine (9) penalty hours of CE.  

 

3. The civil penalty must be paid, and all deficient and penalty CE hours must be taken and 

documented to the Board, within ninety (90) days from the date on which Department staff mails 

the licensee a notice of deficiency.  

 

Licensees found to be in non-compliance with continuing education requirements cannot use 

continuing education credit hours submitted for past deficient hours for current continuing 

education compliance.  

 

Notice of and discipline for CE deficiency will be assessed by the Department via Agreed 

Citation, which will detail the licensee’s rights and obligations under the Uniform Administrative 

Procedures Act, T.C.A. §§ 4-5-301, et seq. The discipline assessed in accordance with this 

continuing education policy constitutes formal discipline against a practitioner’s license, and as 

such it is reportable to the disciplinary databanks and will be noted on the practitioner’s licensure 

profile.  

 

If such licensee fails to pay the civil penalty and demonstrate that he or she has cured the CE 

deficiency within the 90-day cure period, the Department will file a licensure complaint and the 

licensee will be prosecuted in accordance with the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, 

T.C.A.§§ 4-5-301, et seq.  

 

Adopted by the Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators on the 3
rd

 

day of November, 2008. Amended and Ratified by the Board on March 6, 2017. 



 
 


