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BOARD WELCOMES NEW 

MEMBERS 
 

Cynthia R. Jaggers, LMT – Chattanooga, TN 
Pamela Edmond,Public Member - Dickson, TN 
 
 

RULE CHANGES IN EFFECT 
 
The following is a summary of recent rule 
changes effective 06/23/2009: 
 

• Redefines a reinspection fee as a 
nonrefundable fee to be paid by an 
establishment when an establishment 
does not pass inspection, fails to 
schedule an inspection, does not 
appear for a scheduled inspection, or 
moves to a new location requiring an 
inspection of the new establishment. 

 
• Adds definition of a continuing 

education course approval fee as a 
nonrefundable fee to be paid by a 
continuing education course provider 
upon the submission of a continuing 
education curriculum to be approved 
by the Board each continuing education 
cycle. 

 
• Revises fee schedule as follows: 
 
 Total initial application fees for 
 Massage Therapist:  $280.00 
 
  
 

 Total initial application fees for 
 Massage Establishment: $225.00 
 
 Total licensure renewal fees for 
 Massage Therapist:  $195.00 
 
 Total licensure renewal fees for 
 Massage Establishment: $145.00 
 
 Reinspection fee due to a failed 
 inspection or a failure to allow or 
 appear for inspection: $110.00 
 
 Reinspection fee due to a change of 
 address because of moving to a new 
 location:   $135.00 
 
 Continuing education course approval 
 fee (per course):  $100.00 
 
• Clarifies that providers of courses 

pertaining to federal and Tennessee 
statutes  must disseminate accurate 
and current information in compliance 
with rules and must submit the 
continuing education course approval 
fee. 

 
• Establishes and defines fee types for 

approval of new massage therapy 
programs; annual program renewal 
fees; existing program registration fees; 
late renewal fees for programs failing to 
submit the required annual report; a 
replacement certificate fee; and a 
remedial application fee. 
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LEGISLATIVE UPDATE 
 

The following is a summary of bills relative to 
the practice of massage therapy in the state of 
Tennessee: 
 
Public Acts 2009 
 
Public Chapter 513 
 
This public chapter requires the Department 
of Health to undertake a statewide campaign 
to remind all heath care providers of their 
duty to report domestic abuse.  Any licensed 
health care practitioner who knows, or has 
reasonable cause to suspect, that a patient’s 
injuries, whether or not such injuries cause a 
patient’s death, are the result of domestic 
violence or domestic abuse, shall report to the 
Department of Health, Office of Health 
Statistics, on a monthly basis.  Health care 
practitioners, in active status, can report 
suspected domestic abuse via the Domestic 
Violence Reporting System.  Note:  The name 
of the victim of domestic violence is never 
reported!  If you are a health care 
practitioner, in active status, and would 
like instructions on how to make a report 
please call (615)741-1954 or e-mail 
Domestic Violence.Health@tn.gov 
 
This bill became effective on July 1, 2009. 
 
Public Chapter 581 
 
This public chapter provides that a person 
licensed by any of the health related boards 
who provides voluntary health care services to 
a patient of a sponsoring organization shall 
not be civilly liable for any act or omission in 
rendering these services, unless the act or 
omission constitutes gross negligence of willful 
misconduct.   
 
This bill became effective on July 1, 2009. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 

A massage therapist licensed in Tennessee 
must obtain twenty-five (25) hours of 
continuing education during each two (2) year 
continuing education cycle. Two (2) hours of 
the twenty-five (25) hour requirement shall 
pertain to federal and Tennessee statutes and 
rules concerning massage therapists and 
establishments.  Two (2) hours of the twenty-
five (25) hour requirement shall pertain to 
practice management, or to professional 
ethics, or to substance abuse.  Non-compliant 
licensees are subject to Board discipline which 
includes a one hundred and fifty dollar 
($150.00) civil penalty, a requirement to make 
up the delinquent hours, plus an additional 
six (6) hours.   

 
CONSUMER RIGHT-TO-KNOW 

 
The Health Care Consumer Right-to-Know Act 
of 1998, T.C.A. § 63-51-101 et seq., requires 
massage therapists to submit information 
regarding details of their training, specialty 
certification and practice prior to licensure 
and/or renewal of licensure.  Licensees who 
have submitted information are required to 
update that information in writing by notifying 
the Department of Heath, Healthcare Provider 
Information Unit, within thirty (30) days after 
the occurrence of an event or the attainment 
of a status that is required to be reported. 
Failure to comply with the requirement to 
update profiling information constitutes 
grounds for disciplinary action against your 
license.  For information on updating your 
practitioner profile, please visit our web site 
at: 
 
hppt://health.state.tn.us/Boards/index.htm 
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Tennessee Massage Licensure Board 
Board Members as of February 20, 2008 

 
Faith Mayton, LMT 

Board Member 
Thompsons Station 

 
Phyllis Salyers, LMT 

Chairperson 
Kingsport 

 
Marcela M. Collins, LMT 

Board Member 
Clarksville 

 
Chris Sluss, LMT 

Secretary 
Kingsport 

 
Marilyn Field 

Citizen Member 
Dickson 

 
Cynthia Jaggers, LMT 

Board Member 
Chattanooga 

 
 
 
 

 
Pamela Edmond 
Citizen Member 

Dickson 

 
 

 
Board Staff 

 
Lisa Lampley 
Unit Director  

 
Dianne Birkner 
Board Manager 

 
Dale Hill 

Board Administrator 

 
Mary Ann Beaty 
Licensing Tech 

 
 


