Tennessee Board of Optometry
Policy on Continuing Education Violations

The rules of the Tennessee Board of Optometry require each Licensee to complete forty (40) hours
of approved continuing education (CE) during the twenty-four (24) months that precede the
licensure renewal month (CE Cycle), as follows:

» A minimum of twenty-five (25) of the forty (40) hours is required in courses pertaining to
ocular disease and related systemic disease
o Atleast two (2) of these twenty-five (25) hours shall be a course or courses designed
specifically to address controlled substance prescribing practices and must be
obtained through a Board-approved course
o A maximum of eight (8) hours may pertain to Optometric Business/Practice
Management and/or ethics/jurisprudence
» A maximum of fifteen (15) of the forty (40) hours may be completed in multi-
media/online formats
» Each licensee shall maintain current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)
in addition to the forty (40) hours described above.

In accordance with Tennessee Rules and Regulations 1045-02-.05, if a Licensee is found to be
deficient in the number, type, or format of required CE hours for a reporting period, the Board will
issue a Notice to the last known address of the individual stating the facts or conduct which warrant
the intended action. The Licensee has thirty (30) days from the date of the Notice to provide proof
of completion of the deficient hours and current CPR certification having been earned during the
CE Cycle. All hours must have been completed during the twenty-four (24) months that
precede the licensure renewal month to be considered compliant for that CE cycle.

If the Licensee fails to provide proof of completion - within thirty (30) days as specified in the
Notice - of the deficient hours and/or current CPR certification having been earned during the CE
Cycle, the Licensee may enter an Agreed Citation and be assessed a civil penalty. Civil penalties
will be assessed in the following amounts in relation to the deficiency of the Licensee:

Ten (10) CE hours or less = one hundred dollar ($100.00) civil penalty

Eleven (11) to twenty (20) CE hours = two hundred fifty dollar ($250.00) civil penalty
Twenty-one CE hours or more = five hundred dollar ($500.00) civil penalty.

Current CPR certification = twenty-five dollar ($25.00) civil penalty
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Additionally, the Licensee shall be required to complete the deficient hours. The deficient CE
hours and civil penalties must be completed and paid in full within ninety (90) days of ratification
of the Agreed Citation by the Board or be subject to additional disciplinary action.

The assessment of a civil penalty is considered formal discipline. As a result, the discipline will
be reported on the Board’s website and may be reported to the National Practitioner Data Bank.

Amended by the Board of Optometry on the 12" day of October 2022.
Amended by the Board of Optometry on the 6" Day of April 2022.
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Amended by the Board of Optometry on the 14" Day of April 2021.
Amended by the Board of Optometry on the 10" Day of December 2010.
Adopted by the Board of Optometry on the 5 day of November 2008.
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