
Licensed Massage Therapist Massage Establishment 

Application Online Application Paper Only 

Application Fee- $280. You will pay at the end of your online 
application.  

Application Fee- $225. Check or money order made payable to the state of 
Tennessee. Mailed to “Massage Board 665 Mainstream Drive Nashville, TN 
37243”  

Passport Style Photo (top of head to top of shoulders) Can be 
taken on Smartphone. You can upload into your online account 

Valid form of Identification (driver’s license, social security card, birth 
certificate, passport, etc.) 

Valid form of Identification (driver’s license, social security 
card, birth certificate, passport, etc.) 

One Letter of recommendation (Letter writer should include, Date, State 
license is held, License number, Handwritten signature) 

Transcripts (directly from educational institution) please send to 
unit2hrb.health@tn.gov 

Birth Certificate or Passport (FOR SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP 
BUSINESS TYPE ONLY) 

Two Letters of recommendation (Letter writer should be a health 
professional and include, Date, State license that is held, License 
number, Handwritten signature). You can upload into your 
online account  

Each owner, including yourself, as listed on page two of the application, 
must complete the “Ownership or Proceeds Disclosure” form. 

Request verification of successful completion of the MBLEx 
examination offered by the FSMTB or an examination offered 
by the NCBTMB is sent to the Board directly from the 
Institution. 

All applicants and owners who are not Tennessee licensed massage 
therapists must show completion of at least two (2) hours of education in 
Tennessee law relating to massage therapy.  

Birth Certificate or equivalent (passport, naturalization 
certificate) 

Corporation/LLC shall submit a copy of their Corporate Charter and a 
statement identifying the corporation’s registered agent for service of 
process filed with the Tennessee Secretary of State’s Office. (FOR LLC/ 
CORPORATION BUSINESS TYPE ONLY) 

 Declaration of Citizenship Form (with 2nd form of ID) can be 
birth certificate, Social Security card, Naturalization Certificate  

Copies of current renewal certificates for every LMT you plan to hire, as 
listed on page two of the application. 

Mandatory Practitioner Profile- log out and log back into your 
online account if you do not see this application the first time. 
You may also find this under the “activities” drop down box in 
your online account.  

Criminal Background Check. Instructions on tn.gov for this process, must be 
completed with Identigo, cannot reuse previous results, results expire after 6 
months’ time. OCA 2681 

Verification of licensure from each state where any licensure is 
or has been held. The verification must be submitted directly to 
the Board’s office from the other state(s). 

Criminal Background Check. Instructions on tn.gov for this process, 
must be completed with Identigo, cannot reuse previous results, results 
expire after 6 months’ time.  OCA 2680 

YOU MUST HAVE AN APPOINTMENT TO COME TO OUR OFFICE. You can schedule an appointment with us at 
unit2hrb.health@tn.gov or (615)741-3807. We cannot guarantee you will be seen if you do not have an appointment. 


