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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS REGARDING IMPLEMENTATION OF PAIN 
MANAGEMENT CLINIC REGULATION 

 
Pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated (“T.C.A.”) § 63-1-301, a “pain management clinic” is 
defined as a privately-owned clinic, facility or office in which any health care provider licensed 
under Title 63 provides “chronic nonmalignant pain treatment”, meaning the prescribing of 
opioids, benzodiazepines, barbiturates, or carisoprodol for ninety (90) days or more in a twelve-
month period, unrelated to cancer or palliative care, to a majority of its patients. For purposes of 
determining if a clinic should be licensed under this part, the entire clinic, facility, or office 
caseload of patients who received medical services from all medical doctors, osteopathic 
physicians, advanced practice registered nurses and physician assistants who serve in the clinic, 
facility or office shall be counted.  
 
‘Pain management clinic’ shall also mean any privately-owned, facility or office which advertises 
in any medium for any type pain management services. Pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-1-301, all pain 
management clinics in Tennessee must be licensed by the Department of Health. 
 
The following FAQ responses and statements do not supersede the terms of the Tennessee Code 
or the relevant rules and regulations, but are merely provided as guidance. They are provided in a 
good faith effort at transparency in the Department’s regulatory role. The questions are 
informational in nature and do not constitute legal advice. Moreover, the questions and answers 
are subject to change and the Department is not bound by this particular guidance in its 
interpretation of the law. 
 
Those who are or may be subject to this regulation are strongly urged to review the applicable 
statutes and rules and seek their own legal counsel if necessary. Please note that practitioners are 
required to be in compliance with any changes in the law and that this may require continued 
vigilance. 

 
1. Question:  In the definition of a ‘pain management clinic,’ there is language about 

“prescribing or dispensing opioids, benzodiazepines, barbiturates or carisoprodol for ninety 
(90) days or more in a twelve-month period.” Does this only refer to 90 consecutive days of 
such prescriptions? 
 

Answer:  No. Treatment with one of the named substances for ninety (90) days within a 
twelve-month period, whether consecutive or not, rises to the level of prescribing outlined 
in T.C.A. § 63-1-301 et seq. 
 

2. Question:  My clinic is associated with a hospital. Do I need to obtain a pain management 
clinic license? 
 

Answer:  Possibly. T.C.A. § 63-1-302 provides some exemptions from the requirement to 
obtain pain management clinic licensure, primarily for health care facilities otherwise 
inspected pursuant to T.C.A. Title 68. The Department encourages practitioners to seek 
guidance from their legal counsel as to whether their clinic qualifies for exemption under 
T.C.A. § 63-1-302. 
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3. Question: What is the penalty for operating or working in an unlicensed pain management 
clinic? 
 

Answer: T.C.A. §63-1-311 provides that each practitioner providing pain management 
services, as well as anyone who owns or operates an unlicensed pain management clinic, is 
subject to an administrative penalty of not less than $1,000 and not more than $5,000 per 
day.  
 

4. Question: Once my clinic obtains a pain management clinic license, can I move my clinic 
to a new address? 
 

Answer: No. T.C.A. § 63-1-316(f) requires that each clinic location be licensed separately, 
regardless of whether that clinic is operated under the same name, ownership, or 
management as another clinic. It is not possible under the law to change the location or 
address of a clinic’s license. Thus, a pain management clinic that moves from its original 
location, even if it is relocating nearby, is treated as a completely separate and new clinic 
under the law. If you operate a licensed pain management clinic and intend to open another 
clinic at a different location, you must first submit a separate application for the new location 
and obtain a new license prior to operating at the new location, regardless of whether or not 
you intend to continue to operate a clinic at the original location. 
 

5. Question: Will I meet the requirements for on-site hours if I am present on-site at my clinic 
for 20% of the clinic’s monthly operating hours? 
 
Answer: No. A medical director must be on-site for at least 20% of the clinic’s weekly 
operating hours. A schedule in which the medical director is only on-site 20% of the hours 
every month or every other week will not meet this requirement. 
 

6. Question: If my business has more than one clinic location, does my medical director need 
to be physically present on-site for 20% of the operating hours of each location, or just 20% 
of the total operating hours? 
 

Answer: Each location. T.C.A. § 63-1-309(c) requires the medical director to be on-site a 
minimum of 20% of each clinic’s weekly total operating hours. Additionally, a medical 
director may not provide services at more than four (4) pain management clinics.  
 

7. Question: Can my clinic split the medical director responsibilities among two or more 
qualified physicians? 
 

Answer: No. Only one individual can be designated as a pain management clinic’s medical 
director at any one time. The Tennessee Rules (“Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs.”) Rule 1200-34-
01-.10(1)(a)(6) requires that the clinic’s medical director identify a pain management 
specialist who has agreed to provide coverage in the event the medical director is unable to 
fulfill his or her duties on a temporary basis.  This coverage may only be provided on a 
temporary, short-term basis and will not count against the four-clinic limit at which one can 
serve as a medical director.  If the medical director will not be able to return, your clinic 
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must notify the Department of the identity of the new qualified interim medical director 
within 10 days using the Department’s Interim Medical Director Form. You must also 
include documentation that she or he is a pain management specialist.  The clinic may 
operate under the direction of the interim medical director for a 30-day grace period, during 
which time the new permanent medical director must immediately submit a completed 
application for a new pain management clinic license at the clinic’s location. If the new 
application is not completed and approved by the end of this 30-day grace period, the clinic 
must cease to operate.  Should the clinic have difficulty obtaining a new medical director, 
it may apply for a waiver of up to an additional sixty (60) calendar days in which to operate 
with the interim Medical Director. The waiver will only be granted upon good cause shown, 
demonstrated reasonable efforts to locate and retain a new medical director, and a 
reasonable belief by the Department that public health will be harmed by not granting the 
waiver. Both the pain management clinic license and the interim Medical Director are liable 
for any actions or inactions occurring at or caused by the pain management clinic during 
any granted grace period. 
 

8. Question: I am also serving as a coverage medical director for another pain clinic (on a 
temporary, short-term basis, when the primary medical director is unavailable due to illness 
or vacation).  Does this count against the limit of four pain management clinics at which I 
can serve as medical director? 
 
Answer: No. Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. Rule 1200-34-01-.10(1)(a)(6) provides that such 
temporary, short-term coverage service does not count against the limit of four pain 
management clinics at which a medical director can serve. 
 

9. Question: I am serving as a coverage medical director for another pain clinic. Do I have to 
be on-site at the clinic I am covering for at least 20% of its weekly operating hours? 
 
Answer: Yes. When providing coverage for a clinic’s primary medical director, the 
covering medical director must be on site at the clinic for at least 20% of the weekly 
operating hours during the entire period of coverage. It is the primary medical director’s 
responsibility to ensure that the coverage medical director is available for the required hours. 
The primary medical director may be subject to discipline for the coverage medical 
director’s failure to meet the minimum on-site hours. 
 

10. Question: When does the medical director at my clinic need to become a pain management 
specialist? 
 

Answer: Before you begin operating as a pain clinic. T.C.A. § 63-1-301(8) defines a pain 
management specialist as a Tennessee-licensed physician with an unencumbered license 
who has obtained accreditation and training along one of four recognized pathways. A pain 
management clinic cannot operate in Tennessee without a medical director who has met this 
requirement. The four recognized pathway requirements are as follows: 
 
(A)   Has a subspecialty certification in pain medicine as accredited by the Accreditation 

Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) through either the American 
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Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) or the American Osteopathic Association 
(AOA), or is eligible to sit for the board examination offered by ABMS or AOA, 
and maintains the minimum number of continuing medical education (CME) hours 
in pain management to satisfy retention of such certification; 

 
(B)  Attains American Board of Pain Medicine (ABPM) diplomate status and maintains 

the minimum number of CME hours in pain management to satisfy retention of 
ABPM diplomate status; 

 
(C) Is board certified by the American Board of Interventional Pain Physicians (ABIPP) 

by passing parts 1 and 2 of its examination and maintains the minimum number of 
CME hours in pain management to satisfy retention of ABIPP diplomate status; or 

 
(D)  Has an active pain management practice in a clinic accredited in outpatient 

interdisciplinary pain rehabilitation by the commission on accreditation of 
rehabilitation facilities or any successor organization. 

 
11. Question: My clinic wishes to employ a medical director who does not yet meet the 

definition as a pain management specialist and one or more of the tests required to become 
qualified will not be offered for some time. Can this physician serve as medical director 
before sitting for the test? 
 

Answer: No. Pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-1-301(4)(c), after July 1, 2016, a physician must meet 
the definition of a pain management specialist to be qualified to be a medical director.  In 
order for your pain management clinic to operate legally, you will need to find and employ 
a physician who already meets all the statutory requirements.  Additionally, all collaborating 
and supervising physicians of advanced practice registered nurses and physician assistants 
must also be pain management specialists.  
 

12. Question: Is there a list available of the physicians qualified as pain management specialists 
in the state? 
 

Answer: No. Medical licenses in Tennessee are issued by profession and not by specialty. 
The Department evaluates each applicant’s qualifications at the time of application and does 
not maintain a separate list of physicians qualified as pain management specialists. 
 

13. Question: Does the provision of mental health treatment by mental health professionals fall 
within the ambit of T.C.A. § 63-1-301(2) or the rules promulgated by the Department? 
 

Answer: No. The use of benzodiazepines for treatment of mental health conditions (such 
as anxiety or depression) and not for pain management does not fall within the scope of 
T.C.A. § 63-1-301(2), which specifically references “Chronic non-malignant pain 
treatment” services in the definition of “pain management clinic.” 
 

14. Question: If I prescribe Suboxone or buprenorphine for treatment of Substance Use 
Disorder (“SUD”) only, do I have to register as a pain clinic? 
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Answer: No.  T.C.A. §53-11-311 permits the prescription of buprenorphine products only 
for patients undergoing opiate withdrawal treatment or for other FDA-approved purposes. 
Suboxone and buprenorphine are opioids and, if used in any form for the purpose of pain 
management, must be counted when determining whether a clinic requires registration as a 
pain clinic. However, if, and only if, these drugs are used in accordance with their FDA 
indication solely in the context of a bona fide program for Medication-Assisted Treatment 
(“MAT”) for opioid dependence, this would not be considered pain management services 
and those patients should not be counted as such. Finally, note that if a significant amount 
of your patient population is receiving MAT, your practice may need to register as a 
nonresidential office-based opiate treatment facility (“OBOT”), as defined at T.C.A. § 33-
2-402, with the Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services. 
Licensing procedures for OBOTs can be found at Tenn. Comp. R. and Regs. 0940-05-35-
.04.  
 

15. Question: Does the provision of pain management services in an oncological setting for the 
treatment of malignant conditions fall within the scope of T.C.A. §63-1-301 et seq. or the 
rules promulgated by the Department? 
 

Answer: No. T.C.A. §63-1-301(2) defines chronic non-malignant pain treatment to be 
treatment for pain unrelated to cancer or palliative care. 
 

16. Question: Is Tramadol (Ultram) an opioid such that the prescribing of it should be counted 
for purposes of assessing whether a provider must register as a pain clinic? 
 

Answer: Yes. Tramadol, which works on the brain’s opioid receptors and is a Schedule IV 
controlled substance, has an approximate morphine equivalent dose value of 0.1 and should 
be considered in assessing whether a provider must register as a pain management clinic. 
 

17. Question: Is codeine considered an opioid? 
 

Answer: Yes. Codeine has an approximate morphine equivalent dose value of 0.15, is a 
Schedule II controlled substance, and should be considered in assessing whether a provider 
must register as a pain management clinic. 
 

18. Question: Are cash-only or money-order payments permissible forms of payment for 
patients of pain management clinics? 
 

Answer: Only as a co-pay when a patient is paying through insurance. T.C.A. §63-1-310 
specifically limits acceptable forms of payment for pain management clinics to checks or 
credit cards except that clinics may accept cash for a co-pay, coinsurance, or deductible 
when the remainder of the charge is submitted to the patient’s insurance plan for 
reimbursement. 
 

19. Question: My licensed pain management clinic no longer meets the definition of a pain 
clinic at T.C.A. §63-1-301(7). Am I still required to comply with the pain management 
clinic laws, rules, and regulations? 
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Answer: Yes. Any clinic, facility, or office which holds a pain management clinic license 
is subject to the pain management clinic laws for as long as it holds that license, regardless 
of whether that clinic, facility, or office still meets the definition of a pain management 
clinic. Tenn. Comp. R. and Regs. 1200-34-01-.07 allows a pain management clinic to 
voluntarily inactivate its license via an inactivation form issued by the Department, but 
unless and until the license is inactivated, your clinic must comply with all pain clinic laws 
and rules.  
 

20. Question: Who holds the license for a pain management clinic? 
 
Answer:  Under the current law, a pain management clinic license in Tennessee is granted 
to and held by the clinic’s medical director.   
  

21. Question: Can I open a pharmacy next door to my pain management clinic? 
 
Answer: T.C.A. § 63-1-316(h) mandates that owners of pain management clinics may not 
locate or participate in locating a pharmacy in which any owner of the pain management 
clinic has an ownership interest adjacent to the clinic. Tenn. Comp. R. and Regs. 1200-34-
01-.01(2) defines “Adjacent” as “within 1,000 feet.” Violation of this law is grounds for 
revocation of the pain management clinic license. 
 

22. Question: How many continuing education courses do I need if I work in a pain clinic? 
 
Answer: In addition to any other continuing education requirement to maintain licensure 
under Title 63, Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. Rule 1200-34-01-.11(2) requires that any 
practitioner providing services at a pain management clinic complete at least ten (10) hours 
of continuing education courses during their licensure renewal cycle in a topic related to 
pain medicine. Those topics are: 
 
(a) Prescribing controlled substances; 
(b) Drug screening or testing; 
(c) Pharmacological and non-pharmacological pain management; 
(d) Completing a pain management focused history and physical examination and 
maintaining appropriate progress notes; 
(e) Comorbidities with pain syndromes; and 
(f) Substance abuse and misuse including diversion, prevention of same, and risk assessment 
for abuse. 
 
In addition, the clinic’s medical director must obtain the continuing education required to 
maintain certification, accreditation, and/or diplomate status in his or her pain management 
board or association to continue to qualify as a pain management specialist. All medical 
directors and collaborating or supervising physicians of advanced practice registered nurses 
or physician assistants working in the clinic must also obtain the continuing education 
required to maintain medical license specific by their governing boards. 
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23. Question: How do I apply for a pain management clinic license? 
 
Answer: The application is available online here.  
 

24. Question: What is the application fee for opening a pain management clinic? 
 
Answer: $1.500.00, as set forth by Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. Rule 1200-34-01-.06(1), plus 
the $10 state regulatory fee.   
 

25. Question: What is the inspection schedule and fee? 
 
Answer: The inspection fee is $1,500.00, as set forth by Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. Rule 
1200-34-01-.06(4). Pursuant to Rule 1200-34-01-.08, a clinic’s initial inspection fee is due 
at the time of license application. For new licensees, the inspection shall be conducted 
within 90 business days of the Department’s determination that an application is complete. 
If a clinic does not pass its initial inspection, the Department, at its discretion, may re-inspect 
the clinic subject to a $1,000.00 re-inspection fee. Once a clinic is licensed, the department 
shall conduct biennial random inspections. The standard $1,500.00 inspection fee is due 30 
days following each biennial inspection. Where an inspection uncovers possible violations 
or deficiencies, the Department may require a reinspection. The reinspection fee is 
$1,000.00. 
 

26. Question: Can the medical director transfer his license to a new pain management specialist 
if he leaves our clinic? 
 
Answer: No. Under T.C.A. § 63-1-316(f), a pain management clinic license is neither 
assignable nor transferable once granted. However, under Tenn. Comp. R. and Regs. 1200-
34-01-.09(1), a clinic may continue to operate under the previous medical director’s pain 
management clinic license for up to a thirty (30) day grace period, provided that the clinic 
informs the Department of its interim medical director on the prescribed form within ten 
(10) days of the date the current medical director no longer qualifies or departs. You will 
also need to submit copies of the interim Director’s Pain Specialist Certificate and DEA 
license. During this grace period, a new medical director must immediately submit a 
completed application for a new pain management clinic license for that location. In 
addition, both the pain management clinic license and the interim medical director are liable 
for any actions occurring at the pain management clinic during this time.  Additionally 
should the current medical director inactivate the clinic’s license, the clinic must 
immediately cease operation. Prior to inactivating the license, the medical director shall 
have the responsibility to notify all patients receiving care at the clinic and arrange for 
continuity of care. 
 

27. Question: What if I cannot find a new medical director but my interim director is willing 
to stay on for a little while longer? 
 

https://lars.tn.gov/datamart/mainMenu.do;jsessionid=IRq4WvCeGFeHdGblA41sD1De
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Answer: Under Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. Rule 1200-34-01-.09(1)(g), if the clinic cannot 
find a permanent new medical director during the grace period, the interim may apply for a 
pain management clinic license to be issued for a term of six (6) months. 
 

28. Question: If my pain management license is expiring, and I submit a completed pain 
management clinic licensure application for the same location, but the Department does not 
come to inspect my clinic before the expiration of the license, do I have to shut my doors? 
 
Answer: No. If you submit an application for licensure which is deemed completed ninety 
days prior to your license’s expiration, and your licensure application is for the same 
location as your license, but the Department does not inspect your clinic prior to the 
license’s expiration, you may continue operation. The Department may issue you a license 
and conduct the initial inspection after you are licensed. 
 

29. Question: When should I submit the pain clinic annual report? 
 

Answer: The annual report is due to the Department sixty (60) days prior to the pain 
management clinic’s license anniversary date and shall cover the previous twelve (12) 
months. For example, if the clinic’s license anniversary date is June 1st, the annual report is 
due on April 2nd and must cover the 12-month period beginning in April of the previous 
year. After submitting your Annual Report, please be sure to email 
PainManagement.Health@tn.gov and attach each new provider’s DEA and supervisory 
forms. You will also need to conduct a background check via IdentGo using OCA 3333, if 
the provider has not had one done in the last 365 days. You are also required to update your 
LARS and CSMD relations with the new providers as delegates. Keep in mind that the 
Annual Report is a part of your clinic renewal application. You may submit the Annual 
Report online using the web form available here. 

 
30. Question: If I have a change in ownership, but the medical director does not change, what 

do I have to report to the Department? 
 
Answer: The annual report from the medical director must list all owners and their 
percentage of interest in the clinic for each month of the preceding year.  Additionally, on 
the renewal application, the medical director will have to attest that no owner has been 
convicted or, pleaded nolo contendere to, or received deferred adjudication for any felony 
or misdemeanor relating to the distribution of illegal prescription drugs or a controlled 
substance.  Failure to disclose the requested information could result in disciplinary action 
against the pain management clinic license as well as the individual licenses of the medical 
director and the owner.  
 

31. Question: Does everyone who works in my clinic have to submit a criminal background 
check as part of my licensure application? 
 
Answer: No. The medical director, anyone with ownership interest, and each person who 
holds a DEA registration who will be providing services at the clinic must always submit a 
criminal background check as part of the licensure application process.  Sometimes others 

mailto:PainManagement.Health@tn.gov
https://tennessee.na1.adobesign.com/public/esignWidget?wid=CBFCIBAA3AAABLblqZhA4QMAEpyWH6HFisFQ1_CoNnj4EbcpGeYBq_6n7-OIPINS1B3XuLpowKXFi1VHaqt0*
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must as well.  Criminal background checks must also be submitted for any person working 
in the clinic—as an employee or contractor—who has clinical contact with patients; or who 
has contact with onsite patient information or specimens; or who has management 
responsibilities; or who has been convicted of a felony; or who is under indictment for an 
offence involving the sale, diversion, or dispensing of controlled substances; or who has 
ever been convicted of an offense involving the sale, diversion, or dispensing of controlled 
substances.  It is the medical director’s responsibility to make an appropriate inquiry 
regarding whether he or she needs to submit an employee or contractor’s criminal 
background check.  The Department has promulgated a form on the pain management clinic 
website to help facilitate medical directors in conducting this inquiry. All background 
checks must be completed through the State’s approved vendor IdentGo, Background 
checks must have OCA code 3333, and are valid for 365 days. For more information on 
obtaining a background check, please visit: https://www.tn.gov/health/health-
professionals/criminal-background-check/cbc-instructions.html 
 

32. Question: As a medical director do I have to get re-fingerprinted again every two years? 
 
Answer: No. A clinic’s license will expire every two years. As part of the renewal process 
you will have to make several attestations that the owners, employees, and contractors 
working in your clinic don’t have criminal backgrounds as outlined in the rules.  This 
includes an attestation that no person working in the clinic—as an employee or contractor—
who has clinical contact with patients, contact with onsite patient information or specimens, 
or who has management responsibilities, has been convicted of a felony, or is under 
indictment for an offense involving the sale, diversion, or dispensing of controlled 
substances, or has ever been convicted of an offense involving the sale, diversion, or 
dispensing of controlled substances.  If anyone meets this criteria, then the Department may 
require that person’s criminal background check be submitted with the renewal application.   
 

33. Question: I am relocating my pain management clinic practice to a new location.  I know 
that I have to apply for a new pain management clinic license for the new location, but I’m 
worried about the timing of closing my current practice and the inspection. What assurances 
can I obtain that I won’t effectively be shut down while waiting to be inspected? 
 
Answer: The Department recognizes that the need for an initial licensure inspection in the 
process of moving locations can raise concerns regarding patient continuity of care.  
Therefore, if a clinic wishes to move locations, it may arrange with the Department to have 
its current pain management clinic inspected prior to moving. Should the pain clinic pass 
inspection and be otherwise qualified for licensure, the Department may issue a license to 
the new location. The new location will then be inspected after the license is issued, allowing 
the clinic more freedom to determine when its move will occur.  The Department will charge 
a reinspection fee for the inspection of the new clinic location once the move does occur. 
 

34. Question: Can an interim medical director continue to operate a clinic after the existing 
pain management clinic license expires? 
 
Answer: No. Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. Rule 1200-34-01-.09(1)(a) states: 

https://www.tn.gov/health/health-professionals/criminal-background-check/cbc-instructions.html
https://www.tn.gov/health/health-professionals/criminal-background-check/cbc-instructions.html
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“The clinic may continue to operate on the current Medical Director’s license for a 
grace period of up to thirty (30) calendar days from the date that the current Medical 
Director no longer met the requirements contained in T.C.A. §§ 63-1-301, et seq. 
and these rules to be a Medical Director, or the date the current Medical Director 
departs the clinic, provided the clinic notifies the Department, on a form prescribed 
by the Department, within ten (10) business days of the identity of another pain 
management specialist who will serve as the interim Medical Director for the 
clinic.” 

  
An interim medical director is operating on the previous medical director’s clinic license 
until a new clinic license is granted. The 30-day grace period for an interim medical director 
(or 60-day waiver extension) will not extend the expiration date of the clinic license. Thus, 
if the previous medical director’s clinic license reaches its expiration date before a new 
clinic license is issued to the new medical director, the clinic must close. In order to avoid 
an interruption in patient care, if your clinic license is within 90 days of its expiration date, 
you may wish to have the previous medical director renew the clinic license before you file 
a Notice of Interim Medical Director. 


