
Round to the nearest dollar
(Use blue or black ink)

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

1. Gross taxable income (from Schedule A) ................................................................................. (1)

2. Exemption amount ($2,500 if married filing jointly, $1,250 for any other filing status) ...... (2)

3. Amount subject to tax (subtract Line 2 from Line 1) ............................................................... (3)

4. Income tax (3% of Line 3) ........................................................................................................... (4)

5. Angel Investor Credit (total from Schedule C), cannot exceed Line 4 ................................... (5)

6. Subtotal (subtract Line 5 from Line 4) ....................................................................................... (6)

7. Enter amount paid with extension request, original return, and/or prepayment(s) ........... (7)

8. Penalty .......................................................................................................................................... (8)

9. Interest ......................................................................................................................................... (9)

10. Total amount due (add Lines 6, 8, and 9; subtract Line 7) .................................................... (10)

11. Refund (if Line 7 exceeds total of Lines 6, 8, and 9, enter overpayment here) .................. (11)

Check Filing Status:

INC

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
2018 Individual Income Tax Return for Angel Investors

RV-R00105 (9/18)

Amended return

The due date of this return is the 15th  day of the
fourth month following the end of your fiscal year.

Tennessee Department of Revenue
Audit Division
P.O. Box 190644
Nashville, TN 37219-0644

Should you need assistance, please contact the
Audit Division by calling 615-532-6439.

Tax Year Beginning

Tax Year Ending FEIN

Account Number (if known)

SSN Spouse’s SSN

Legal Residence Address

City

Name

Spouse’s Name

State ZIP Code

(If filing jointly, include first names and initials of both spouses)

Taxpayer has filed for federal extension

Single
Married Filing Jointly
Enter spouse’s SSN above Trust

Estate Partnership LLC - Multi Member LLC - Single Member

Exemptions:  (If you have checked one of the boxes in this section, please see instructions before continuing with this form.)

Quadriplegic - self

Quadriplegic - spouse

Legally Blind - self

Legally Blind - spouse

Age 65+ Limited Income

Check all that apply:

Remit amount on Line 10 to:

Married Filing Separately
Enter spouse’s SSN above

Because a portion of the tax goes back to the city or county of residence, please provide
the county and city (if within an incorporated municipality) of the taxpayer’s legal
residence on the lines below.

County City

254



If  taxpayer is
deceased, enter date
of death in the boxes at
right.

If taxpayer’s spouse is
deceased, enter date
of death in the boxes.

Enter taxpayer's phone number in the boxes below

Taxpayer’s Email Address:

List taxable dividends from all sources, including holding companies and mutual funds. Also, include capital gain and nondividend
distributions. List all bonds, notes, mortgages, and other taxable interest.  (See instructions.)

Schedule  B - Non-Taxable Dividends and Interest
List dividends from national and Tennessee chartered bank stock, credit unions, building or savings and loan companies, and Tennessee licensed
insurance companies. List interest on bonds of the U.S. government and its agencies, Tennessee bonds, interest from credit unions, certificates
of deposit, accounts not represented by a written instrument, passbook accounts, savings accounts, bank money market accounts, "NOW”
accounts, and commercial paper maturing in six months or less. (See instructions.)

Schedule  A - Taxable Dividends and Interest

Taxpayer's Signature

Tax Preparer's Signature

Preparer's Address

Date

City State ZIP Code

Preparer's Email Address

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this report, and to the best of my knowledge
and belief, it is true, correct, and complete.

Spouse’s Signature

Date TelephonePreparer's PTIN

Income Type
Enter I for interest
or D for dividends.

Description Amount
Round to the nearest dollar.

     Total non-taxable dividends and interest ........................................................................................................

Income Type
Enter I for interest
or D for dividends.

Description Amount
Round to the nearest dollar.

     Total taxable dividends and interest (enter here and on Line 1 of page 1) .................................................



Account No./FEIN/SSNTaxable Year Taxpayer Name

Schedule C - Angel Investor Credit

Effective with tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, a Hall income tax credit is established equal to 33% of the value of a direct
or indirect investment by an “angel investor” in an innovative small business. Angel investors making investment in companies located in
a Tier 4 county will be allowed a credit of 50%.

The investment must be at least $15,000 and represent no more than 40% of the capitalization of the company at the time of the
investment. The credit is limited to $50,000 per angel investor in any tax year.

The total amount of awarded credits is capped at $3 million for tax years beginning January 1, 2017; $4 million for tax years beginning
January 1, 2018; and $5 million for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2019. Unused Angel Investor Credit may be carried forward
for up to five years until fully utilized. Certificates of qualification for the credit will be issued by the Tennessee Technology Development
Corporation (“Launch Tennessee”) on a first-come, first-served basis.

E*
Credit Carryover
(see instructions

below)

Period
Ending

(MM/YY)

A
Angel Credit

Carryover from Prior
Years

B
New Angel Credit
(cannot exceed

$50,000)

C
Available Angel

Credit (add columns
A&B)

D
Current Tax

Liability (Line 4,
front of return)

*  If the amount in Column C is greater than the amount in Column D, put the amount from Column D on the front of the return, Line 5, and
enter Column C minus Column D in Column E.  If the amount in Column C is less than the amount in Column D, put the amount from Column
C on the front of the return, Line 5, and enter zero in Column E.

     Total Credit Carryover* .............................................................................................................................................................



 
Instructions: Individual Income Tax Return for Angel Investors 

 
General Information 
Who should file 
The following people are required to file an Individual Income Tax Return (also see Schedule A): 

 A person whose legal domicile* is in Tennessee and whose taxable interest and dividend income exceeded 
$1,250 ($2,500 if married, filing jointly) during the tax year. 
 

 A person who moved into or out of Tennessee during the year and whose taxable interest and dividend 
income during the period of Tennessee residency exceeded $1,250 ($2,500 if married, filing jointly). 
 

 A person whose legal domicile* is in another state, but who maintained a residence in Tennessee for more 
than six months of the year and whose taxable interest and dividend income exceeded $1,250 ($2,500 if 
married, filing jointly). Military personnel and full-time students who have legal domicile in another state are 
not required to file. 
 

 A person, bank, etc. acting as a Tennessee fiduciary (e.g., administrator, executor, guardian, trustee, or other 
acting in a similar capacity) who received $1,250 or more in taxable interest and dividend income for the 
benefit of Tennessee residents. However, if a grantor trust does not obtain an FEIN, the trustee, instead of 
filing a return, must report the total amount of income received by the trustee to the grantor, who is liable 
for the tax. Also, the trustee of a charitable remainder trust is not responsible for payment of tax. The 
trustee must report to each resident beneficiary the amount of taxable income distributed to him, and the 
beneficiary is liable for the tax.  
 
Trustees who receive taxable income on behalf of nonresident beneficiaries are not required to file a return. 
However, when taxable income is received on behalf of both resident and nonresident beneficiaries, only 
the taxable income of any resident beneficiary is required to be reported on Schedule A and on Line 1of the 
return. Nonresident income may be reported on Schedule B. An executor or administrator of a Tennessee 
estate must pay tax on income received by the estate, until stocks and bonds have been transferred to the 
beneficiaries, even if the beneficiaries are nonresidents. A trust or estate is entitled to only one exemption 
of $1,250 regardless of the number of beneficiaries. 
 

 A Tennessee partnership whose taxable interest and dividend income exceeded $1,250. The partnership is 
liable for the tax, if any. 

 
* When determining your legal domicile, you should consider where you are registered to vote, where you 
maintain your driver’s license, and where you maintain your permanent or principal residence (as opposed to a 
special-purpose or temporary residence, such as a vacation home, etc.). 
 
Filing and making payments  
Most taxpayers file on a calendar year basis, meaning their tax year begins on January 1 and ends on December 
31. A taxpayer filing on a calendar year basis must file a return by April 15 of the following year. If a taxpayer’s tax 
year is something other than the calendar year, the taxpayer must include its fiscal year beginning and end dates. 
For a taxpayer on a fiscal year filing, the return is due by the 15th day of the fourth month following the end of the 
fiscal year.  
 
Taxpayers may file and make their tax payments online by visiting the Department’s website at 
www.tn.gov/revenue. Alternatively, taxpayers may mail their returns and payments to the Department at the 
address listed on the front of the return. Make checks or postal money orders payable to Tennessee Department 
of Revenue. Tax may be paid in cash at the Nashville office or the regional offices (Chattanooga, Jackson, Johnson 
City, Knoxville, and Memphis).  



Taxpayers may request an extension to file their returns by completing the Application for Extension of Filing Time. 
The extension request must be made on or before the due date of return. The request should be mailed to the 
Department at the address listed on the front of the return. 
 
Distribution of income taxes collected 
Three-eighths of the income taxes collected are distributed among the cities and counties of the state. In order 
for the taxes to be properly distributed, please provide the name of the county and city (if the taxpayer resides 
within an incorporated municipality) of the taxpayer’s legal residence in the appropriate space on the return. 
 
Exemptions 
For tax years beginning January 1, 2015, any person 65 years of age or older having a total annual income derived 
from any and all sources of $37,000 or less, or $68,000 or less for joint filers are completely exempt from the tax. 
 
If a person is certified by a medical doctor as a quadriplegic, the taxable income that is derived from circumstances 
resulting in the individual becoming a quadriplegic is exempt. However, when taxable interest and dividend income 
is received jointly by a quadriplegic and a spouse who is not a quadriplegic, or who is quadriplegic but the taxable 
income was not derived from circumstances resulting in such spouse becoming quadriplegic, only one-half of the 
jointly received income will be exempt from the tax. Under the circumstances, the spouse who is not quadriplegic or 
whose quadriplegic condition did not result in the income, is entitled to only a $1,250 exemption. 
 
A person who is legally blind is exempt from the tax.  Legal blindness means that vision does not exceed 20/200 in 
the better eye with correcting lenses or that the widest diameter of the visual field subtends an angle no greater 
than 20 degrees. 
 
To receive the exemption, single filers must send a written statement from their physician, certifying their blindness 
to the Department of Revenue. Single filers who are blind are not required to file a return. For joint filers, when 
taxable income is received by a blind person and a sighted spouse, only the taxable income of the sighted person is 
required to be reported in Schedule A and on Line 1 of the return.  The income of the blind person is exempted and 
may be reported on Schedule B. If the taxable dividend/interest income is received jointly by a blind person and a 
sighted spouse, only one-half of the jointly received income will be exempt from tax. The sighted person is entitled 
to only a $1,250 exemption on a jointly filed return. A physician’s statement for the blind spouse is required with the 
return. 
 
Instructions 
Line 1: Enter the total taxable dividends and interest from Schedule A. 
Line 2: Enter the annual exemption amount that is allowed against total taxable interest and dividend income.  

The exemption amount is $2,500 for married persons filing jointly and $1,250 for any other filing status. 
Line 3: Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. 
Line 4: Multiply the income tax rate of 3% by Line 3. 
Line 5: Enter the total credit available from Schedule C, Column C. This amount cannot exceed Line 4. 
Line 6: Subtract Line 5 from Line 4. 
Line 7: Enter any amount previously paid with an extension request or an original return or any prepayment. 
Line 8: Penalty is calculated at a rate of 5% for each 30-day period, or portion thereof, that a return is 

delinquent, up to a maximum of 25% of the delinquent amount.  The minimum penalty is $15 for the 
delinquent filing of a return.   

Line 9: Interest is due on any amount of tax that is paid after the statutory due date of the return.  The interest 
rate is determined in accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-801.  The current interest rate can be 
found at www.tn.gov/revenue under Tax Resources. 

Line 10: Add Lines 6, 8, and 9, and subtract Line 7. 
Line 11: If Line 7 is more than the total of Lines 6, 8, and 9, enter the amount here. This is the amount requested 

to be refunded. If you are filing an amended return and the amount is $200 or more, a Report of Debts 
form must be completed and filed with the return. 



Schedule A – Taxable Dividends and Interest 
The following are types of income subject to the Hall income tax.  Include any of these types of income on Schedule 
A. Indicate whether the income is interest or dividends, include a brief description of the income, and include the 
amount. Enter the total amount of taxable income on Line 1 of the return. 

 Dividends from stock in:
o all corporations
o insurance companies not licensed to do business in Tennessee
o all holding companies, including those formed by banks, savings and loan associations, and

insurance companies
o state-chartered banks outside Tennessee not doing business in Tennessee

 Income from investment trusts and mutual funds, including capital gain distributions, whether in cash or
additional stock (Note, the portion of income derived from bonds of the U.S. government and its agencies or
bonds of the state of Tennessee and its counties and municipalities is exempt.)

 Any distribution which does not qualify as a return of capital and is otherwise taxable. In order to qualify as
a return of capital, it must be shown that part of the shareholder's investment is being returned to the
shareholder and that, as a result, the capital of the company is actually reduced or the number of shares
decreases. The status or classification of the transaction for federal income tax purposes is not controlling.

 Market value of stock in a corporation given by another corporation as a dividend in the regular course of
business

 Distributions based on stock ownership to shareholders of an S corporation
 Interest from the following, if the instrument matures in more than six months from the date of issuance

(except certificates of deposit):
o bonds of states, counties, and municipalities outside Tennessee
o bonds of foreign governments
o church bonds
o bonds, mortgages, deeds of trust, personal notes, promissory notes, installment notes, commercial

paper, or other written instruments, issued by any person, firm, corporation, joint-stock company,
business, trust or partnership

 Interest and dividends you received as a beneficiary of a trust or estate located outside Tennessee, unless
derived from a nontaxable source

 Dividends or interest from money market funds which are not bank money market accounts
 Dividends or interest from the Federal National Mortgage Association, the Government National Mortgage

Association, and the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (Note, these are not agencies of the U.S.
government.)

 Income credited to a limited partner's capital account, if the partner has a certificate evidencing transferable 
interest in the partnership (usually a publicly-traded partnership)

Income is considered taxable when it is: 
1. received in cash;
2. paid by check or other negotiable instrument or equivalent that is mailed to taxpayer, regardless of date

received;
3. credited on books of a bank, banking institution, broker or any agent of taxpayer; or
4. received in merchandise or other commodities of intrinsic value.

Schedule B – Non-taxable Dividends and Interest 
The following are types of income that are not subject to the Hall income tax.  Include any of these types of income 
on Schedule B. Indicate whether the income is interest or dividends, include a brief description of the income, and 
include the amount. 



 Dividends from stock in: 
o national banks (except holding companies) 
o Tennessee-chartered state banks (except holding companies) 
o federal savings and loan associations and/or savings and loans in Tennessee (except holding 

companies) 
o insurance companies licensed to do business in Tennessee (except holding companies) 
o mutual funds and investment trusts to the extent the fund or trust invests in U.S. bonds or 

Tennessee municipal bonds 
 Dividends on insurance policies 
 Interest from the following, if the instrument matures in six months or less from the date of issuance: 

o bonds, mortgages, deeds of trust, personal notes, promissory notes, commercial paper, or other 
written instrument, issued by any person, firm, corporation, joint-stock company, business, trust or 
partnership 

 Interest from the following regardless of the date of maturity: 
o bonds of the state of Tennessee and its counties and municipalities 
o bonds of the U.S. government and its agencies  
o certificates of deposit issued by any bank, savings and loan association or credit union 
o repurchase agreements or similar evidences of indebtedness (A repurchase agreement is an 

investment instrument whereby a person buys a security, and the seller, usually a broker, agrees to 
repurchase the security on a certain date for a certain price.) 

 Interest from insurance policies if interest is payable on demand 
 Interest from savings accounts, checking accounts or money market accounts in any bank, savings and loan 

association or credit union (except money market funds) 
 Interest or dividends from credit unions 
 Income described by a partnership or S corporation as portfolio or pass-through interest or dividends, 

unless actually paid to a partner with a certificate of transferable interest or to a shareholder 
 Earnings or distributions from education and Roth IRAs that are not subject to federal income tax 
 Distributions of income or earnings from federally recognized retirement accounts, including IRAs 
 Capital gains from the sale of real estate, stock, etc. (Capital gain distributions from mutual funds are 

taxable.) 
 Distributions paid on or after July 1, 2006, to shareholders of publicly-traded real estate investment trusts 

(REITS) (Distributions paid prior to this date are taxable.) 
 Earnings or distributions received on or after July 1, 2006, from health savings accounts (HSAs) (Earnings 

received prior to this date are taxable to the extent they are derived from sources taxable for Tennessee 
income tax purposes.) 

 
Schedule C – Angel Investor Credit 
Only angel investors certified by the Tennessee Technology Development Corporation (Launch Tennessee) should 
complete Schedule C. The amount included in Column B is the amount of credit certified to the taxpayer by Launch 
Tennessee.  
 
Include any credit carried over from previous years in Column A. There will be no credit carryover for the 2017 tax 
year (i.e., period ending December 2017 for calendar year filers). Enter the total of Columns A and B in Column C, 
and include the amount from Line 4 of the return in Column D. Enter the amount in Column C, up to the amount on 
Line 4 of the return, on Line 5. If the Column C amount is more than the taxpayer’s current tax liability reported on 
Line 4, enter the amount of Line 4 on Line 5.  
 
If the amount in Column C is less than Column D (amount from Line 4), enter zero in Column E. However, if Column 
C is more than Column D, subtract Column D from Column C and enter the amount in Column E. This is the amount 
of credit carryover that the taxpayer will include in Column A of the next year’s return. 
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