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Account No.Filing Period

Due Date County

County Number

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
REALTY TRANSFER AND MORTGAGE TAX RETURN

Returns must be postmarked by the
due date to avoid the assessment of
penalty and interest.  Returns must
be filed even if no tax was collected.

Make your check payable to the Ten-
nessee Department of Revenue for
the amount shown on Line 9 and mail
to:

Tennessee Department of Revenue
Andrew Jackson State Office Bldg.
500 Deaderick Street
Nashville, TN  37242

IF AN AMENDED
RETURN

CHECK HERE

REMINDERS
1. Please read instructions on reverse side before preparing this return.
2. Maintain adequate records to support the return.
3. Sign and date return in the signature box below.

SIGN
HERE Deputy or Employee Date

I declare this is a true, complete, and accurate return to the best of my nowledge.

SIGN
HERE

FOR OFFICE
USE ONLY

RV-R0002201

County Register Date

Total Realty Transfer Tax collected ......................................................................................................

WRITE NUMBERS LIKE THIS
 ROUND TO NEAREST DOLLAR

00

00

00

00

00

00

00

00

00

00

Total Mortgage Tax collected..................................................................................................................

Total collections (Line 1 plus Line 2)....................................................................................................

Retained by register (     % of Line 3)....................................................................................................

Enter outstanding credit amount from previous Department of Revenue Notice(s)...................

TOTAL DUE STATE  (Line 3 less Lines 4 and 5)(See instructions before entering amount due)...........................................

Interest (If filed late, interest is computed at                % per annum on the tax (Line 6) from the due date to date paid) ...............................

TOTAL AMOUNT REMITTED (Total of Lines 6, 7, and 8)...................................................................

Name: _________________________________________________

Address: _______________________________________________

City: __________________________  State: _______  Zip: ________

     INTERNET (8-15)

40072000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

Penalty  (If filed late, compute penalty at 5% of the tax on Line 6 for each 30-day period for which tax is delinquent.
Maximum penalty is 25%. Minimum penalty is $15 regardless of amount of tax due, even if there is no tax due.)..........

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.



FILING INFORMATION

General: There is a state tax imposed on the privilege of recording the transfer of realty and also a tax on any document evidencing
an indebtedness. The county register and other officials charged with the collection of these taxes shall report all collections
to the Department of Revenue. For collecting and reporting the taxes under Tenn. Code Ann. Section 67-4-409, county
registers shall be entitled to retain as commission two and four-tenths percent (2.4%) of the taxes collected.

Due Date: The return along with the appropriate tax payment is due to be filed on or before the 15th day of the month following the period
covered.

Taxpayer/
Tax Preparer's
Signature: You must sign and date your return.

Penalty and
Interest:

Filing: Make your check payable to the Tennessee Department of Revenue for the amount shown on Line 9 of the return and mail
with the return to:  Tennessee Department of Revenue, Andrew Jackson State Office Building, 500 Deaderick Street,
Nashville, Tennessee  37242.  Payment of the tax by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) does not relieve you of filing a timely
tax return.

Amended
Return: If this is an amended return, please indicate "Filing Period" and check the appropriate box on the front of this form.

INTERNET (8-15)

For additional information, contact the Taxpayer Services Division in one of our Department of Revenue Offices:

Tennessee residents can also call our statewide toll free number at 1-800-342-1003.
Out-of-state callers must dial (615) 253-0600.
www.tn.gov/revenue

Johnson City
(423) 854-5321
204 High Point Drive

Chattanooga
(423) 634-6266
1301 Riverfront
         Parkway
Suite 203

Memphis
(901) 213-1400
3150 Appling Road
Bartlett, TN

Nashville
(615) 253-0600
Andrew Jackson Building
500 Deaderick Street

Jackson
(731) 423-5747
Suite 340
Lowell Thomas Building
225 Martin Luther King Blvd.

Knoxville
(865) 594-6100
7175 Strawberry
         Plains Pike
Suite 209

INSTRUCTIONS

If filed after the due date of the return, compute interest at the current rate on the tax due (Line 6). Use the formula:
(Tax on Line 6 x Interest Rate x Number of Days Delinquent divided by 365.25). The interest rate is indicated on Line 8
on the front of the return.

If filed after the due date of the return, penalty is computed at 5% of the tax (Line 6) for each 30-day period or portion
thereof that the return is late.  Total penalty is not  to exceed 25% with a minimum of $15 regardless of tax due.

Line 1:

Line 2:

Line 3:

Line 4:

 Line 5:

Line 6:

Line 7:

Line 8:

Line 9:

Enter the total amount of Realty Transfer Tax collected during the reporting period.

Enter the total amount of Mortgage Tax collected during the reporting period.

Calculate the total collections for the reporting period by adding Lines 1 and 2 and enter result.

Calculate the commission retained by register by multiplying the amount on Line 3 by .024 and enter result. [Tenn.
Code Ann. Section 67-4-409(d)(2)]

Enter any outstanding credit amounts from previous Department of Revenue notices.

Calculate the total amount to be remitted to the Department of Revenue. If filed timely, subtract Lines 4 and 5 from Line 3
and enter result. If filed late, subtract only Line 5 from Line 3 and enter result. Registers are not permitted to retain a
commission if the return and payment are not made in a timely manner as prescribed by statute.  [Tenn. Code Ann.
Section 67-4-213(e)]

If not filed by the due date of the return, enter the total amount of penalty due as indicated in the Filing Information above.

If not filed by the due date of the return, enter the total amount of interest due as indicated in the Filing Information above.

Enter the total amount due to be remitted to the Department of Revenue. Add Lines 6, 7, and 8 and enter the result.




