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Franchise/Excise Tax - Overview

Franchise Tax

Excise Tax
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Franchise/Excise Tax — Who is Liable?

All for-profit, foreign, and domestic entities
chartered, qualified, or registered in Tennessee or

doing business in TN must file the F&E tax return
and pay at least the minimum tax.

» Includes corporations, limited partnerships, LLC's, and
business trusts

» Entities are subject to F&E tax from their date of
formation. Entities not registered with the Secretary of
State, will be liable for the tax from the date they begin
operations with substantial nexus in the state.
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Franchise/Excise Tax — Due Dates
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Franchise/Excise Tax - Delinquencies

PENALTY: Failure to file, late filing and/or payment results in
penalty fees computed at a rate of 5% per month

maximum penalty = 25% of the tax amount due (or assessed amount)
minimum penalty = $15, regardless of the amount of tax due

INTEREST: Applies to any taxes not paid timely, even if the
there is a filing extension.

All delinquent or deficient tax payments begin accruing interest from the
date delinquent or deficient until paid.

Failure to file a F&E tax return or pay required

fees and taxes may result in the revocation of
a business’s charter or certificate.

TN
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Franchise/Excise Tax - Termination

To properly terminate or withdraw charter:

> File a final F&E tax return, timely filed by the due date of the
return;

» Submit a schedule of liquidation, distribution, or disposition
of assets with the final return;

» Pay all taxes owed to the Department;
» Obtain a tax clearance certificate from the Department; and

» Provide the tax clearance certificate, along with Articles of
Dissolution, to the Tennessee Secretary of State.



Minimum Filing

Minimum franchise tax = $100

Applicable to any taxpayer with a franchise liability equal to or less
than $100, including:

- Ataxpayer that is active and has no net worth or book value of real or
tangible personal property owned or used in Tennessee and no revenue

- Ataxpayer that is inactive (no net worth, no revenue), that has had its
charter or other registration forfeited, revoked, or suspended without having
been dissolved or otherwise properly terminated

« An out-of-state company incorporated in Tennessee even if there is no
property, payroll, or sales within TN must file full return with an
apportionment Schedule N.
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Minimum Filing — How To

Returns

File a return.

>  Minimum ($100) F&E Tax

> File HallTncome Tax Return

Franchise and Excise Minimum Tax
Return

EASY!
File Minimum $100
F&E Tax without even
logging into TNTAP!

Franchise and Excise Minimum Tax Returnp

Account Information

Questions




Estimated Payments — Who is Liable?

Taxpayers are required to make estimated tax
payments when there is a combined F&E tax liability
of $5,000 or more (after applicable tax credits) for
both the prior tax year and the current tax year.

« If the prior period's return was for a period of less than 12 months
(short-period return), the actual liability from the prior short period
must be annualized. Under these circumstances, the taxpayer is
required to make estimated tax payments if both the annualized liability
for the prior tax period and the projected liability for the current tax
period are $5,000 or more

B
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Estimated Payments - When

Quarterly payments of estimated franchise and excise tax are

made according to the schedule below. The term “quarterly” is

used because there are four payments due. The days between
each quarter may vary.

1st Payment  15th day of the 4" month of the current taxable
year

2" payment  15th day of the 61" month of the current taxable
year

3"d Payment  15th day of the 9" month of the current taxable
year

4th payment  15th day of the 15t month of the subsequent
taxable year

TN
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Estimated Payments — How to Compute

Quarterly estimated tax payments are computed
using either the STANDARD method or the
alternative ANNUALIZED INCOME INSTALLMENT
method but may not switch between methods
during the tax year.

Link to worksheet used to calculate payments under both methods
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/revenue/documents/forms/fae/rvrQ

0104.pdf

TN.gov/revenue Taxes Frahchlse/ Forms Other Worksheets
Excise Tax
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https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/revenue/documents/forms/fae/rvr00104.pdf

Estimated Payments — Standard Method

The amount of each quarterly installment is the same,
regardless of that quarter’s actual revenue.

The standard method computes the minimum

guarterly payment amount as the lesser of:

» 25% of the prior year’s total liability (annualized if the tax
period was less than 12 months); or

» 25% of 80% of the projected current year’s liability.
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Estimated Payments —
Annualized Income Installment Method

The election to use this alternative method is an annual
election made on the franchise and excise tax return.

Do you wish to elect the annualized income installment method for quarterly estimates?

Franchise and excise tax components of the

guarterly estimates are computed separately:

» Excise - computed in accordance with Section 6655(e)(2) of the
Internal Revenue Code.

» Franchise - the lesser of 25% of the franchise tax shown on
the tax return for the preceding tax year (annualized if less
than 12 months) or 25% of 80% of the current year’s liability.

] 14




Estimated Payments - Remitting

Electronic payment required (either through bank account

or through the IRS Modernized e-File Program.) penalty and
interest charges may apply if the taxpayer fails to remit payments electronically.

« Accepted forms of payment include ACH debit, ACH credit,
and credit card (service fee is added to payments made by
credit card.)

* Funds must be readily available.

« Any taxpayer owing $2,500 or more in connection with any
guarterly estimated tax payment must remit that tax
payment to the state in funds that are immediately
available to the state on the date the payment is made.
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Estimated Payments — Remitting/TNTAP

TN

Payment

3
Payment Type

Required
Account Payment
udit Payment

Estimated Payment <
Extension Payment

Return Payment

°

x
Confirm Amount
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Estimated Payments — Delinquent/Deficient

« Penalty rate is 2% per month (max 24%) plus
interest at the current rate per year.

« Penalty and interest are computed from the due '
date of the installment to the date paid or until
the 15th day of the fourth month following the
close of the taxable year.

 If a taxpayer has timely filed estimated tax payments for at least
two years, but the estimated tax payments resulted in an
underpayment of tax on which penalties and interest accrued,
may apply for waiver of penalty.
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Extensions — How To Request

To receive a 7-month extension, a taxpayer must
have paid, on or before the original due date, an

amount equal to or greater than...

v'90% of the current period liability, or

v 100% of the previous period liability,
annualized to 365.25 days, or

v'$100 if the previous period does not exist.
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Extensions — How To Pay

« The extension is automatic if the payment requirements for
receiving an extension have been met.

* TNTAP has a drop-down box |

S Payment
to indicate when a payment
is for an extension; .
otherwise, there is not a

Account Payment
place or a need to_formally A
request an extension. Estimated Payment
- Extension Payment <
e When f|||ng the return on Return Payment

TNTAP, check “yes” when Confirm Amount *

asked “Have you filed for an
extension?”



Extensions — Important Info

« The filing extension is not a payment extension.

- If the taxpayer anticipates that it will be due a credit
or refund of tax with the return for which it is
requesting an extension (due to having made
sufficient tax payments as of the original return due
date), the taxpayer does not need to file an extension
application or make an extension payment. The
extension will automatically be granted.
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Extensions — Deficient Payments

- Any tax unpaid as of the original due date of the return
will be assessed interest.

= Example - Taxpayer pays 100% of the previous years liability
which is $50,000 by the regular due date; however, upon filing
the actual liability is $60,000. Interest will be calculated on

$10,000

- If a timely extension request is made but does not
meet the extension payment requirements or if the
taxpayer does not file the return by the extended due
date, penalties and interest will be calculated as
though no extension had been granted.
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Resources

« Www.tn.gov/revenue > taxes > Franchise & Excise Tax

« www.tn.gov/revenue > tax resources > Tax Guides >
Franchise & Excise Tax

* WWw.revenue.support.tn.gov > taxes > Franchise &
Excise Tax

« www.tn.gov/revenue > taxpayer education > taxpayer
workshops > Franchise & Excise Tax

- www.tn.gov/revenue > taxpayer education > tax
webinars > webinar video library > Franchise & Excise
Tax
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http://www.tn.gov/revenue
http://www.tn.gov/revenue
http://www.revenue.support.tn.gov/
http://www.tn.gov/revenue
http://www.tn.gov/revenue

Resources

Please submit
specific
account-
related
guestions, or
any questions

that do not get
addressed in
this webinar to
directly us!

www.tn.gov/Revenue

% Revenue.support@tn.gov

@® 615.253.0600 (M-F8-4:30 CST)
dh
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mailto:Revenue.support@tn.gov

Follow us!

f @TennesseeDepartmentOfRevenue

I @ l @TNRevenue

@TNDeptofRevenue

°

TN
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