Agenda

Report Item: II. B.

2020 National ESEA Distinguished Schools Recognition

The Background:

The National Association of ESEA State Program Administrators (NAESPA) has been selecting examples of superior Title I schools from all states for national recognition since 1996. Each year, Tennessee selects two schools for recognition – one for exceptional student performance and one for excellence in serving special populations of students.

The schools recognized demonstrate a wide array of strengths, including team approaches to teaching and learning, focused professional development opportunities for staff, individualized programs for student success, and strong partnerships between the school, parents, and the community.

This year's schools were recognized at the virtual National ESEA Conference Feb. 8-11, 2021. The two schools in Tennessee that have been recognized as National ESEA Distinguished Schools for 2020 are:

W.A. Wright Elementary – Recognized for exceptional student performance Wilson County Schools

Principal Wilma Hawkins 5017 Market Pl #5017 Mt. Juliet, TN 37122

Eaton Elementary School – Recognized for excellence in serving special populations of students Loudon County Schools

Principal Ashley Bassler 423 Hickory Creek Road Lenoir City, TN 37771

The Recommendation:

For information purposes only; no action required.