### Agenda

Report Item: II. C.

### **2021 National ESEA Distinguished Schools Recognition**

### The Background:

The National Association of ESEA State Program Administrators (NAESPA) has been selecting examples of superior Title I schools from all states for national recognition since 1996. Each year, Tennessee selects two schools for recognition – one for exceptional student performance and one for excellence in serving special populations of students.

The schools recognized demonstrate a wide array of strengths, including team approaches to teaching and learning, focused professional development opportunities for staff, individualized programs for student success, and strong partnerships between the school, parents, and the community.

This year's schools were recognized at the National ESEA Conference Feb. 16-19, 2022. The two schools in Tennessee that have been recognized as National ESEA Distinguished Schools for 2021 are:

# Woodland Elementary – Recognized for exceptional student performance Johnson City Schools

Director of Schools Steve Barnett Principal Dr. Karen Reach Johnson City, TN 37604

# Fifth Consolidated School Elementary – Recognized for excellence in serving special populations of students

### **Dyer County Schools**

Director of Schools Cheryl Mathis Principal Lou Ann Perry 2150 Millsfield Highway Dyersburg, TN 38024

#### The Recommendation:

For information purposes only; no action required.