## The Tennessee State Board of Education Resolution 2016-01, by A. Chancey, et al

WHEREAS, academic standards form the foundation for student learning and teacher instruction; and

WHEREAS, rigorous academic standards are an integral part of ensuring that Tennessee students graduate prepared for postsecondary and workforce success; and

WHEREAS, The Tennessee State Board of Education was charged in Public Chapter 423 with facilitation of Tennessee's most historic and transparent process to review mathematics and English language arts standards; and

WHEREAS, The Tennessee State Board of Education was also charged in Public Chapter 423 with the appointment of educator advisory teams to review public feedback and revise the mathematics and English language arts standards; and

WHEREAS, the Tennessee General Assembly confirmed the appointments of Standards Recommendation Committee members to review and propose mathematics and English language arts standards to the State Board of Education; now

## THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE

That the State Board of Education does applaud the effort, dedication, and commitment to rigorous standards and the students of Tennessee by the following members of the English language arts educator advisory team: Debra Bentley, Brandi Blackley, Terri Bradshaw, Tequila Cornelious, Jami Corwin, Kelsea Cox, Jessica Daigle, Tony Dalton, Cathy Dickey, Susan Dold, Jaime Greene, Susan Groenke, Elaine Hoffert, Shannon Jackson, Desiree Jones, Stacy King, Tammy Marlow, Melanie Maxwell, Jessica Mitchell, Kerri Newsom, Autumn O'Bryan, Shannon Streett, Terri Tilson, T.J. Wilson; and

the following members of the mathematics educator advisory team: Holly Anthony, Michael Bradburn, Jo Ann Cady, Sherry Cockerham, Cory Concus, Theresa Feliu, Darcie Finch, Brandy Hays, Kimberly Herring, Rory Hinson, Jamelie Johns, Joseph Jones, Tim Jones, Stephanie Kolitsch, Julie Martin, Emily Medlock, Meagan Miller, Kimberly Osborne, Jamie Parris, Holly Pillow, Paul Pillow, Stacey Roddy, Chelsea Spaulding, Angela Webb; and

the following members of the Standards Recommendation Committee: Lyle Ailshie, Sharen Cypress, Shirley Curry, Shannon Duncan, Darcie Finch, Tracy Franklin, Amy Guillon, Douglas Hungate, Cathy Kolb, David Pickler, and wish them success in every future endeavor.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

ADOPTED: April 2016	(Affix Seal)	
		Fielding Rolston, Chairman