
TO: Commission Members 

 FROM: Cliff Lippard 
Executive Director 

 DATE: 7 September 2018 

 SUBJECT: Public Chapter 849, Acts of 2018 (Criminal Statute of Limitations)—Draft 
Report for Review and Comment 

The attached Commission report is submitted for your review and comment.  It was 
prepared in response to Public Chapter 849, Acts of 2018, which directs the Commission 
to perform a study on the effectiveness of statutes of limitation on the prosecution of 
criminal offenses.  The Act directed that the study include, but shall not be limited to, 
information on the effectiveness of statutes of limitation on prosecution of sexual 
offenses.  The Act requires the Commission to report its findings and recommendations, 
including any proposed legislation, by January 15, 2019.  The motivation for this study 
stems, in part, from the testimony of a child sexual abuse survivor whose abuser 
escaped prosecution because of the state’s statute of limitation expiring before he 
reported the crime to law enforcement. 

Starting in the early 2000s, many states began eliminating or extending the statutes of 
limitations for child sexual abuse crimes.  Ten states have now fully eliminated statutes 
of limitation for all felony child sexual abuse crimes, and an additional 31 states have 
eliminated the statutes of limitation for some but not all felony child sexual abuse 
crimes.  Over the last decade, while Tennessee has not fully eliminated its statutes of 
limitation for child sexual abuse crimes, it has extended them to either 25 or 15 years 
after the victim turns 18.  And for the most serious sex crimes—rape offenses committed 
against minors—the state eliminated the statute of limitation in 2014, but placed a 
condition on its elimination:  the victim must notify law enforcement or the district 
attorney of the crime within three years after it occurs, if not, the limitation period 
otherwise in place would apply.  Although the legislative intent was for the age-of-
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majority-plus-25 limitation period to remain in effect for rape offenses committed 
against minors not reported within three years, an apparent drafting error in the bill 
resulted in the statute of limitation for those crimes not reported within three years 
reverting to the shorter periods of 15 years for a Class A felony and 8 years for a Class B 
felony.  The draft report recommends that at a minimum, Tennessee law should be 
amended to clarify a drafting error found at Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 40-2-
101(h)(2) and (i)(2), which has the unintentional effect of shortening the statute of 
limitation for rape offenses committed against minors if the victim does not report 
the crime within three years of the offense. 

Further, recognizing the special circumstances of child sexual abuse and the 
legitimate reasons why a complaint often is not made until many years after the 
abuse, the draft recommends that Tennessee should consider the following 
alternatives: 

• Tennessee should consider fully eliminating the statute of limitation for most 
felony child sex abuse crimes, as has already been done in a majority of other 
states. 

• Alternatively, Tennessee should consider eliminating the statute of limitation 
for felony child sexual abuse crimes in circumstances where corroborating 
evidence is obtained by the prosecutor, similar to Oregon and Massachusetts, 
which would still provide additional protection from unfair prosecutions.  If 
corroborating evidence is not obtained, then the statute of limitations 
otherwise in place would apply. 

The draft report also notes that prosecutors argue that Tennessee’s current 15 year 
statute of limitation for second degree murder has prevented them from prosecuting 
“cold case” murders for which evidence of the premeditation element necessary for first 
degree murder is unavailable.  First degree murder has no statute of limitation in 
Tennessee.  Unlike Tennessee, 48 states have no statute of limitations for second degree 
murder.  The draft report recommends that the state may want to consider either 
extending or eliminating the statute of limitation for second degree murder. 


