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Tennessee Bureau of Investigation 
Sexual Offender / Violent Sexual Offender /  

Violent Juvenile Sexual Offender 

Instructions Form 
 

 

 
 
Offender’s Printed Name Offender’s TOMIS / SO # Date Form Completed 
 
 
Section 1 – Requirements of the Program: 
The Tennessee Sexual Offender and Violent Sexual Offender Registration, Verification, and Tracking Act 0f 2004 (“the Registry Act”) was 
established in T.C.A. §§ 40-39-201, et seq. and became effective August 1, 2004. All persons who meet the criteria listed below and who live, 
work, establish a physical presence, attend school, or fit any other criteria set out in the statute in Tennessee must register in accordance with 
the Registry Act.  
 
Definitions: 
Sexual Offender: a person who has been convicted in this state of committing a “sexual offense,” as defined in T.C.A. § 40-39-202(20) or its 

equivalent in another jurisdiction per T.C.A. § 40-39-202(1); or a person who has another qualifying conviction as defined in T.C.A. § 40-39-
203(a)(2).  
Violent Sexual Offender: a person who has been convicted in this state of committing a “violent sexual offense,” as defined in T.C.A. § 40-39-
202(31), or its equivalent in another jurisdiction per T.C.A. § 40-39-202(1). 
Violent Juvenile Sexual Offender: a person who has been adjudicated delinquent in a Tennessee court for any act that constitutes a “violent 
juvenile sexual offense,” as defined in subdivision (29), provided, that the person is at least 14 years of age but less than 18 years of age at 
the time the act is committed; or has another qualifying adjudication or conviction, as defined in § 40-39-203(a)(2). (T.C.A. § 40-39-202(28)) 
Offender Against Children: a sexual offender, violent sexual offender, or violent juvenile sexual offender whose victim(s) is/are 12 years of age 
or less. (T.C.A. § 40-39-202(10)) 
 
Any sexual offender, violent sexual offender or violent juvenile sexual offender who meets any of the definitions above must register or report 
with the TN SOR as follows: 
 
1. An offender who is incarcerated in a state, federal, or private penal facility shall, both within 48 hours of arrival and 48 hours prior to 
release, register or report in person with the warden or warden’s designee by completing and signing a TBI Registration Form under penalty 
of perjury; or 
2. An offender who is incarcerated in a local jail shall, both within 48 hours of arrival and 48 hours prior to release, register or report in 
person with the sheriff or sheriff’s designee by completing and signing a TBI Registration Form under penalty of perjury; or 
3. An offender from another state, jurisdiction, or country who has established a primary or secondary residence in TN, or has established 
a physical presence at a particular location in TN, shall within 48 hours of establishing such residency or presence, register or report in person 
with the Police Department (“PD”) if the primary residence is within city limits or with the Sheriff’s Office (“SO”) if the residence is outside city 
limits, by completing and signing a TBI Registration Form under penalty of perjury; or 
4. An offender from another state, jurisdiction, or country, who is not a resident of TN, shall, within 48 hours of employment in TN, or 
commencing practice of a vocation in TN, register or report in person with the PD if the place of employment is within city limits, or with the SO 
if the place of employment is outside city limits, by completing and signing a TBI Registration Form under penalty of perjury; or 

5. An offender from another state, jurisdiction, or country, who is not a resident of TN, shall, within 48 hours of becoming a student in TN, 
register or report in person with the law enforcement agency of the institution of higher education or the designated law enforcement agency 
with jurisdiction over the campus by completing and signing a TBI Registration Form under penalty of perjury; or 
6. An offender from another state, jurisdiction, or country who becomes a resident of TN pursuant to the Interstate Compact Act shall 
register in person with their assigned officer from the Tennessee Department of Correction (“TDOC”) within 48 hours of entering the state by 
completing and signing a TBI Registration Form under penalty of perjury, in addition to the requirements of the Interstate Compact Act and the 
specialized conditions for sex offenders from TDOC; or 
7. An offender who does not maintain either a primary or secondary residence shall be considered homeless. A homeless offender is 
subject to the registration requirements for the SOR and shall register in person with the appropriate law enforcement agency or their assigned 
officer from TDOC and report each month by completing and signing a TBI Registration Form under penalty of perjury; or 
8. An offender who is released or discharged from a nursing home, assisted living facility, mental health institution or is no longer 
continuously confined to home or a health care facility due to mental or physical disabilities, shall, within 48 hours, register or report in person 
with the designated law enforcement agency, completing and signing a TBI registration form, under penalty of perjury, pursuant to § 39-16- 

702(b)(3). If the offender has previously registered prior to such release or discharge, the offender shall, within 48 hours, report in person to 
the designated law enforcement agency and update all information pursuant to this section; or 
9. An offender who is convicted in this state or is adjudicated delinquent in this state of a qualifying offense shall register in person with 
the designated law enforcement agency, by completing and signing a TBI Registration Form under penalty of perjury; or 
10. An offender who enters a plea of guilty or is adjudicated delinquent in any other jurisdiction for a qualifying offense and who establishes 
sufficient contact with the state of Tennessee shall register in person with the designated law enforcement agency by completing and signing 
a TBI Registration Form under penalty of perjury; or 



Offender’s Initials   

 

RDA 11383 

Page 2 of 6 
BI-0125 (Rev. 8/23) 
 

11. An offender who is required to register as any type of sexual offender in another jurisdiction at any time prior to his or her presence in 
this state, shall register in person with the designated law enforcement agency by completing and signing a TBI Registration Form under the 
penalty of perjury; or 
12. An offender, after being released from probation or parole, or from a local, state, or federal jail or a private penal institution, shall, within 
48 hours after release, register or report in person with the designated law enforcement agency, by completing and signing a TBI Registration 
Form under the penalty of perjury unless the place of incarceration is also the person’s registering agency. That law enforcement agency will 
then become the offender’s registering agency; or 
13. An offender who is housed in a halfway house or any other facility as an alternative to incarceration where unsupervised contact is 
permitted outside of the facility shall register or report in person with the designated law enforcement agency, by completing and signing a TBI 
Registration Form under the penalty of perjury. 

 
TBI Registration Form: The offender shall provide the required information to the registering agency, and the registering agency shall 
transmit the completed form to TBI. The registering agency shall enter the information into the SOR database within 12 hours. In cases of 
offenders adjudicated delinquent for qualifying offenses in Tennessee, the juvenile court shall manually complete the registration form with the 
offender in person and transmit it to TBI, who shall enter the information into the SOR database.  

 
Registering and Reporting Requirements for Offenders: 
After an offender’s initial registration, thereafter he or she shall report in person to the designated law enforcement agency as follows (T.C.A. § 
40-39-204): 
1. A sexual offender shall report in person once a year within 7 days before and 7 days after the offender’s birthday, and those financially able 
shall pay an administrative fee of $150. An offender whose initial registration occurs after the annual reporting period shall be required to pay 
the administrative fees at the time of the initial registration. An offender may also be required to pay an additional fee of up to $50 as imposed 
by county/city governing bodies pursuant to § 40-39-217. 
2. A violent sexual offender shall report in person during the months of March, June, September, and December of each calendar year, to 
the designated law enforcement agency, on a date established by such agency, and shall pay their administrative fee of $150, if financially 
able, at the time of the violent offender’s initial registration or initial reporting date for the calendar year. An offender may also be required to 
pay an additional fee of up to $50 as imposed by county/city governing bodies pursuant to § 40-39-217. 
3. A violent juvenile sexual offender shall report in person during the months of March, June, September, and December of each calendar 
year, to the designated law enforcement agency, on a date established by such agency. Upon reaching the age of 18, violent juvenile sexual 
offenders shall pay their administrative fee of $150, if financially able. Offenders may also be required to pay an additional fee of up to $50 as 
imposed by county/city governing bodies pursuant to § 40-39-217. 
4. Homeless offenders shall report monthly. 

5. An offender shall report to the designated law enforcement agency at least 21 days before traveling out of the country; provided, that an 
offender who travels out of the country frequently for work or another legitimate purpose, with the written approval of the designated law 
enforcement agency, and an offender who travels out of the country for emergency situations shall report to the designated law enforcement 
agency at least 24 hours before traveling out of the country. 

 
Within 48 hours of establishing or changing a primary or secondary residence, establishing a physical presence at a particular location, or 
becoming employed or practicing a vocation or becoming a student in this state, offenders shall register or report in person to the designated 
law enforcement agency. Under § 40-39-203, within 48 hours of a material change in their employment or vocational status, the offender shall 
report the change to the person’s registering agency. For a change in employment or vocational status to be considered a material one, it 
must remain in effect for 5 consecutive days or more (T.C.A. § 40-39-203). 

 
Within 48 hours of a change of any other information given to the registering agency by the offender that is contained on the registration form, 
the offender must report the change to the designated law enforcement agency. This includes, but is not limited to, changes in the offender’s 
primary or secondary residences, mailing address, vehicle descriptions, vehicle information numbers, and license tag numbers (this includes 
both vehicles used or owned by an offender), minors residing in the primary or secondary residence, complete name and all aliases, 
including, but not limited to, any names that the offender may have had or currently has by reason of marriage or otherwise, including 
pseudonyms and ethnic or tribal names, copies of all passport and immigration documents, professional licensing information that authorizes 
an offender to engage in an occupation or carry out a trade or business, and any other registration, verification and tracking information 
contained on the registration form.  
 
Within three days, excluding holidays, of any changes to the offender’s electronic mail address information, including usernames, any social 
media accounts the offender uses or intends to use, instant message, other internet communication platforms or devices, and the offender’s 
username, screen name, or other method by which the offender accesses these accounts or websites, the offender must report the change to 
designated law enforcement agency. (T.C.A. § 40-39-203). 

 
If the offender’s DNA sample has not already been collected pursuant to § 40-35-321 or any other law and received by the TBI, the offender’s 
DNA sample shall be taken by the registering agency and sent to the TBI. (T.C.A. § 40-39-203(n)). 
 

Reporting Requirements for Offenders Who Attend, Work at, or Volunteer at an Institution of Higher Education: 
1. An offender shall notify the registering agency (PD/SO for offender’s primary residence or probation/parole officer) of each institution of 
higher education in Tennessee at which the offender is employed, volunteers, or is a student; and 
2. An offender shall notify the registering agency of each change in enrollment or employment status at each institution of higher education; 
and 
3. If an offender does not have a primary residence in Tennessee, the offender’s registering agency shall be the law enforcement agency for 
the institution of higher education or the law enforcement agency with jurisdiction over the campus. 
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Sanctions of the Program: 
It is an offense for an offender to knowingly violate any provision of the Registry Act. Violations include but are not limited to the following: 
1. Failure of an offender to timely register or report; 
2. Falsification of a TBI registration form; 
3. Failure to timely disclose required information to the designated law enforcement agency; 
4. Failure to sign a TBI registration form; 
5. Failure to pay the annual administrative costs, if applicable and financially able; 

6. Failure to timely disclose status as a sexual offender, violent sexual offender or violent juvenile sexual offender to the designated law 
enforcement agency upon reincarceration; 
7. Failure to timely report to the designated law enforcement agency upon release after reincarceration; 
8. Failure to timely report to the designated law enforcement agency following re-entry in this state after deportation; 

9. Failure to timely report to the offender’s designated law enforcement agency when the offender moves to another state; or 
10. Conviction of a new sexual offense, violent sexual offense, or violent juvenile sexual offense. 

 
Section 40-39-211 
§ 40-39-211(a)(1) While mandated to comply with the requirements of this chapter, no sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202 or violent 
sexual offender as defined in § 40-39-202, shall knowingly establish a primary or secondary residence or any other living accommodation or 
knowingly accept employment within one thousand feet (1,000′) of the property line of any public school, private or parochial school, licensed 
day care center, other child care facility, public park, playground, recreation center, or public athletic field available for use by the general 
public. 
 
§ 40-39-211(a)(2) For purposes of this subsection (a), “playground” means any indoor or outdoor facility that is intended for recreation of 
children and owned by the state, a local government, or a not-for-profit organization, and includes any parking lot appurtenant to the indoor or 
outdoor facility. 
 
§ 40-39-211(b) No sexual offender, violent sexual offender, or violent juvenile sexual offender, as those terms are defined in § 40-39-202, 
shall knowingly: (1) Reside within one thousand feet (1,000′) of the property line on which the offender's former victims or the victims' 
immediate family members reside; (2) Come within one hundred feet (100′) of any of the offender's former victims, except as otherwise 
authorized by law; or (3) Contact any of the offender's former victims or the victims' immediate family members without the consent of the 
victim or consent of the victim's parent or guardian if the victim is a minor being contacted by telephone, in writing, by electronic mail, internet 
services or any other form of electronic communication, unless otherwise authorized by law. 
 
§ 40-39-211(c)(1) While mandated to comply with the requirements of this part, no sexual offender or violent sexual offender, whose victim 
was a minor, shall knowingly reside or conduct an overnight visit at a residence in which a minor resides or is present. Notwithstanding this 
subsection (c), the offender may reside, conduct an overnight visit, or be alone with a minor if the offender is the parent of the minor, unless: 

 
(A) The offender's parental rights have been or are in the process of being terminated as provided by law; 
 
(B) Any minor or adult child of the offender was a victim of a sexual offense or violent sexual offense committed by the offender; or 
 
(C) The offender has been convicted of a sexual offense or violent sexual offense and the following conditions have been satisfied: 

 
(i) The victim of the sexual offense or violent sexual offense was a minor 12 years of age or less; and 
(ii) A circuit court, exercising its jurisdiction over civil matters, has found by clear and convincing evidence that the offender 

presents a danger of substantial harm to the minor. 

 
§ 40-39-211(c)(2) For purposes of subdivision (c)(1)(C): 
 
(A) The district attorney general for the judicial district in which the minor resides may petition the court to make a finding described in 
subdivision (c)(1)(C)(ii) at any time the offender is required to register pursuant to this part; 
 
(B) The offender must be provided notice and an opportunity to be heard; 
 
(C) When determining whether the offender poses a danger of substantial harm to a minor, the court may consider the facts and 
circumstance of the offense, the offender's most recent efforts to rehabilitate, compliance with community supervision as provided in § 39-13-
524 if applicable, any violations of this part as specified in § 40-39-208, and other relevant evidence; 
 
(D) All files and records of the court in the proceeding must be treated as confidential and shall not be open to the public or disclosed to 
the public, but are open to: 

 
(i) The judge, officers, and professional staff of the court; 
(ii) The parties to the proceeding and their counsel and representatives; 
(iii) Any parent or legal guardian of the minor other than the offender; 
(iv) The offender's registering agency; and 
(v) With permission of the court, any other person or agency having a legitimate interest in the proceeding; 

 
(E) The court must enter a written order stating its findings. If the court finds that the offender presents a danger of substantial harm to 
the minor, the district attorney general shall provide the court's finding to the offender's registering agency; 
 
 
 

https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS39-13-524&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS39-13-524&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS39-13-524&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-208&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
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(F) No sooner than 2 years after the date of entry of the circuit court's order, the offender may petition the court for reconsideration of a 
finding that the offender presents a danger of substantial harm to the minor. The offender must show, by clear and convincing evidence, that 
the offender no longer presents a danger of substantial harm to the minor; and 
 
(G) An appeal from a final order or judgment under subdivision (c)(1)(C)(ii) may be made to the court of appeals. A finding that the 
offender presents a danger of substantial harm to the minor shall remain in effect pending the outcome of the appeal. 
 
§ 40-39-211(d)(1) No sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, shall knowingly: 

(A) Be upon or remain on the premises of any building or grounds of any public school, private or parochial school, licensed day care 
center, other child care facility, public park, playground, recreation center or public athletic field available for use by the general public in this 
state when the offender has reason to believe children under 18 years of age are present; 

(B) Stand, sit idly, whether or not the offender is in a vehicle, or remain within one thousand feet (1,000′) of the property line of any 
building owned or operated by any public school, private or parochial school, licensed day care center, other child care facility, public park, 
playground, recreation center or public athletic field available for use by the general public in this state when children under 18 years of age 
are present, while not having a reason or relationship involving custody of or responsibility for a child or any other specific or legitimate reason 
for being there; or  

(C) Be in any conveyance owned, leased, or contracted by a school, licensed day care center, other child care facility or recreation 
center to transport students to or from school, day care, child care, or a recreation center or any related activity thereof when children under 
18 years of age are present in the conveyance. 
 

§ 40-39-211(d)(2) Subdivision (d)(1) shall not apply when the offender: 

(A) Is a student in attendance at the school; 

(B) Is attending a conference with school, day care, child care, park, playground or recreation center officials as a parent or legal 
guardian of a child who is enrolled in the school, day care center, other child care center or of a child who is a participant at the park, 
playground or recreation center and has received written permission or a request from the school’s principal or the facility’s administrator; 

(C) Resides at a state licensed or certified facility for incarceration, health, or convalescent care; or 

(D) Is dropping off or picking up a child or children and the person is the child or children's parent or legal guardian who has provided 
written notice of the parent's offender status to the school's principal or a school administrator upon enrollment. 
 
§ 40-39-211(d)(3) The exemption provided in subdivision (d)(2)(B) shall not apply if the victim of the offender's sexual offense or violent sexual 

offense was a minor at the time of the offense and the victim is enrolled in the school, day care center, recreation center or other child care 
center that is participating in the conference or other scheduled event. 

 
§ 40-39-211(e) Changes in the ownership or use of property within one thousand feet (1,000′) of the property line of an offender's primary or 
secondary residence or place of employment that occur after an offender establishes residence or accepts employment shall not form the 
basis for finding that an offender is in violation of the residence restrictions of this section. 
 
§ 40-39-211(f) A violation of this part is a Class E felony. No person violating this part shall be eligible for suspension of sentence, diversion or 
probation until the minimum sentence is served in its entirety. 
 
§ 40-39-211(g)(1) The first violation of this part is punishable by a fine of not less than $350 and imprisonment for not less than 90 days. 

 
§ 40-39-211(g)(2) A second violation of this part is punishable by a fine of not less than $600 and imprisonment for not less than 180 days. 
 
§ 40-39-211(g)(3) A third or subsequent violation of this part is punishable by a fine of not less than $1,100 and imprisonment for not less than 
1 year. 

 
§ 40-39-211(g)(4) A violation of this part due solely to a lack of the written permission required pursuant to subdivision (d)(2) shall be 
punishable by fine only. 

 
§ 40-39-211(h)(1)(A) While mandated to comply with the requirements of this part, it is an offense for 3 or more sexual offenders, as defined in 
§ 40-39-202, or violent sexual offenders, as defined in § 40-39-202, or a combination thereof, to establish a primary or secondary residence 
together or inhabit the same primary or secondary residence at the same time. 

§ 40-39-211(h)(1)(B) Each sexual offender or violent sexual offender who establishes or inhabits a primary or secondary residence in violation 
of subdivision (h)(1)(A) commits a violation of this section. 
 
§ 40-39-211(h)(1)(C) Subdivision (h)(1)(A) shall not apply if the residence is located on property that is, according to the relevant local, 
county, or municipal zoning law, zoned for a use other than residential or mixed-use. 
 
§ 40-39-211(h)(2)(A) No person, corporation, or other entity shall knowingly permit 3 or more sexual offenders, as defined in § 40-39- 202, 
violent sexual offenders, as defined in § 40-39-202, or a combination thereof, while such offenders are mandated to comply with the 
requirements of this part, to establish a primary or secondary residence in any house, apartment or other habitation, as defined by § 39-14- 
401(1)(A), owned or under the control of such person, corporation, or entity. 
 
§ 40-39-211(h)(2)(B) Subdivision (h)(2)(A) shall not apply if the residence is located on property that is, according to the relevant local, county, 
or municipal zoning law, zoned for a use other than residential or mixed-use. 

https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-202&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-202&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-202&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-202&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-202&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-202&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-202&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-202&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS39-14-401&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=SP&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)&co_pp_957e0000bdb05
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS39-14-401&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=SP&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)&co_pp_957e0000bdb05
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§ 40-39-211(h)(3) This subsection (h) shall not apply to any residential treatment facility in which more than 3 sexual offenders, as defined in § 
40-39-202, violent sexual offenders, as defined in § 40-39-202, or combination thereof, reside following sentencing to such facility by a court 
or placement in such facility by the board of parole for the purpose of in-house sexual offender treatment; provided, the treatment facility 
complies with the guidelines and standards for the treatment of sexual offenders established by the sex offender treatment board pursuant to 
§ 39-13-704. 

§ 40-39-211(i) The restrictions set out in subsections (a)-(d) and (k) shall not apply to a violent juvenile sexual offender required to register 
under this part unless otherwise ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction. 
 
§ 40-39-211(j) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a violent juvenile sexual offender who knowingly violates this section commits a 
delinquent act as defined by the juvenile code. 
 
§ 40-39-211(k)(1) As used in this subsection (k), unless the context otherwise requires: 

 
(A)(i) “Alone with” means one (1) or more offenders covered by this subsection (k) is in the presence of a minor or minors in a private area; and 

 
(a) There is no other adult present in the area; 
(b) There is another adult present in the area but the adult is asleep, unconscious, or otherwise unable to observe the offender 
and the minor or minors; 
(c) There is another adult present in the area but the adult present is unable or unwilling to come to the aid of the minor or 
minors or contact the proper authorities, if necessary; or 
(d) There is another adult present in the area but the adult is also a sexual offender or violent sexual offender mandated to 
comply with the requirements of this part; 

 
(A)(ii) If the offender is in a private area where the offender has the right to be, the offender is not “alone with” a minor or minors if the 
offender is engaged in an otherwise lawful activity and the presence of the minor or minors is incidental, accidental, or otherwise unrelated to 
the offender's lawful activity; and 
 
(B)(i) “Private area” means in or on any real or personal property, regardless of ownership, where the conduct of the offender is not readily 
observable by anyone but the minor or minors alone with the offender; 
(ii) If the private area contains multiple rooms, such as a hotel, motel, or other place of temporary lodging, any room, rooms, or other area that 
the offender occupies with a minor or minors and that otherwise meets the requirements of this definition shall be considered a private area. 
 
§ 40-39-211(k)(2) Unless otherwise permitted by subsection (c), while mandated to comply with the requirements of this part, no sexual 
offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, shall be alone with a minor or minors in a private 
area. 
 
Sections 40-39-213 and 55-50-353 
Every offender required to register pursuant to this part who is a resident of this state, and who is eligible, shall be responsible for obtaining a 
valid driver license or photo identification card that has been properly designated by the Department of Safety pursuant to § 55- 50-353. Every 

offender eligible to receive the license or identification card shall always have the license or identification card in the offender's possession. If 
the offender is ineligible to be issued a driver license or photo identification card, the department shall provide the offender some other form of 
identification card or documentation that, if it is kept in the offender's possession, will satisfy the requirements of this section and § 55-50- 353; 

such identification must be kept in the offender's possession at all times. If any offender is determined to be indigent, an identification card or 
other documentation in lieu of an identification card shall be issued to the offender at no cost. Every offender required to register pursuant to 
this part shall have obtained the documentation required by this section and presented it to the offender's registering agency no later than 60 
days from the date in which such person is required to register pursuant to this part. Violation is a class E felony. 
 
No violent juvenile sexual offender shall be required to obtain a photo identification card or a valid driver license that has been properly 
designated by the Department of Safety, until such violent juvenile sexual offender attains the age of 18 years.  
 

Section 40-39-215 
§ 40-39-215(a) While mandated to comply with the requirements of this chapter, it is an offense for a sexual offender, violent sexual offender, 
or a violent juvenile sexual offender as defined in § 40-39-202, whose victim was a minor, to knowingly:  

(1) Pretend to be, dress as, impersonate or otherwise assume the identity of a real or fictional person or character, or a member of a 
profession, vocation, or occupation while in the presence of a minor, or with the intent to attract or entice a minor to be in the 
presence of the offender.  

(2) Engage in employment, a profession, occupation, or vocation, regardless of whether compensation is received, that the offender 
knows or should know will cause the offender to be in direct and unsupervised contact with a minor; or  

(3) Operate, whether authorized to do so or not, any vehicle or specific type of vehicle, including, but not limited to, an ice cream 
truck or emergency vehicle, for the purpose of attracting or enticing a minor to be in the presence of the offender. It is a defense to a 
violation of this section that the offender was the parent of the minor in the offender’s presence.  

§ 40-39-215(b) An offender whose victim was a minor may not knowingly rent or offer for rent a swimming pool, hot tub, or other body of water 
to be used for swimming that is located on property owned or leased by the offender or is otherwise under the control of the offender. 

A violation of this section is a Class A misdemeanor. 

 
Section 40-39-216 
The Registry Act authorizes individual public libraries to restrict offender access. 

https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-202&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-202&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-202&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS39-13-704&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-202&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000039&cite=TNSTS40-39-202&originatingDoc=NFC5132D07DF911EA9B9CAC5D20914766&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)
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Section 49-7-162 

§ 49-7-162(a) No person who is registered, or required to register, as a violent sexual offender or offender against children pursuant to the 

Registry Act shall knowingly establish a primary or secondary residence or any other living accommodation in any public institution of higher 
education's on-campus student residence facilities, including dormitories and apartments. 

 
§ 49-7-162(b) A person who violates this section shall be subject to the penalties prescribed in § 40-39-208. 

 

Removal from Sex Offender Registry: Offenders may find FAQs at www.tn.gov/tbi or send questions to TBISORMGR@tbi.tn.gov 
concerning removal from the Registry. Questions or termination requests may also be mailed to: 
 
 Tennessee Bureau of Investigation 
 Attention: Sex Offender Registry 
 901 R. S. Gass Blvd. 
 Nashville, TN  37216 
 

TBI Sexual Offender/ Violent Sexual Offender/ Violent Juvenile Sexual Offender Instructions: An officer/employee of the registering 
agency or juvenile court shall review this form with the offender. The offender must sign the form acknowledging that the program 
requirements have been explained and that the offender understands the requirements and sanctions resulting from failure to comply with 
the program. 

 
Duty under Federal Law to Register as a Sex Offender:  In addition to the requirement to register under Tennessee state law, offenders 
have a separate duty to register under the federal Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (“SORNA”). Despite the separate federal 
duty, any offender subject to Tennessee’s Registry Act who is registered and in compliance with Tennessee’s Registry Act is also in 
compliance with SORNA, because Tennessee’s Registry Act establishes higher standards than those required by SORNA. Though SORNA 
provides minimum standards for sex offender registration and notification, other jurisdictions, such as Tennessee, are authorized by 
SORNA to establish higher standards for offenders. While offenders must ensure that they are compliant with the registration requirements 
for the specific jurisdiction (i.e., state, territory, or tribe) where they are located, the following are the minimal requirements of SORNA that 
apply for any offender who is not currently registered and compliant with Tennessee’s Registry Act: 
 

Under the federal Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (“SORNA”), persons with sex offense convictions must register 
as sex offenders and keep their registration current in each jurisdiction (i.e., state, territory, or tribe) in which they reside, and in 
each jurisdiction where they are employed (including self-employment, non-compensated, and volunteer activities), and in each 
jurisdiction where they are a student. Depending on the type of sex offense for which convicted, offenders must appear in person 
every three months, every six months, or every year to allow the jurisdiction to take a current photograph and to verify pert inent 
information.  

 
In addition to the requirement for periodic updating of registration, convicted sex offenders are required to notify the jurisdiction 
where they are required to register not later than three business days (in Tennessee, offenders have only 48 hours), in person, 
after any change of name, residence, employment, or student status. Convicted sex offenders are required to notify the jurisdiction 
where they are required to register not later than three business days (in Tennessee, offenders have only 48 hours) of a change of 
any other information given to the registering agency by the offender that is contained on the registration form. This includes, but 
is not limited to, changes in the offender’s mailing address, vehicle descriptions, vehicle information numbers, and license tag 
numbers (this includes both vehicles used or owned by an offender), the complete listing of the offender’s electronic mail address 
information or any instant message, chat or other Internet communication name or identity that the person uses or intends to use, 
minors residing in the primary or secondary residence, complete name and all aliases, including, but not limited to, any names that 
the offender may have had or currently has by reason of marriage or otherwise, including pseudonyms and ethnic or tribal names, 
copies of all passport and immigration documents, professional licensing information that authorizes an offender to engage in an 
occupation or carry out a trade or business, and any other registration, verification and tracking information contained on the 
registration form. 
 
Failure to comply with the federal obligations under SORNA subjects an offender to prosecution for failure to register or update 
their registration under federal law, 34 U.S.C.A. 20901, et seq., punishable by up to 10 years imprisonment, which may be 
independent of any additional state law violations. 

 
 
Acknowledgment: 

I acknowledge that I have read or had read to me these registration, verification, and tracking requirements, beginning on page one (1) and 
ending on page six (6) of this document. I acknowledge that these instructions are a summary of the requirements under Tennessee and 
Federal law, and that I may review the actual statute at https://www.tn.gov/tbi.html. I acknowledge that I have been allowed to ask any 
questions about these requirements and that I understand these requirements. 
 
 

 

Offender Printed Name Offender Signature Date Signed 
 
 
 

Officer / Official Printed Name Officer / Official Signature Date Signed 

http://www.tn.gov/tbi.html

