Tennessee ONLY

APPEAL OF DENIAL OF ATTEMPTED FIREARM Transfer

Your Name: Sex: Race:
(PRINT your complete first, middle and last name)

Date of Birth: Social Security #:
(Month, day, year)

Requester’'s Mailing Address:

Requester’'s Physical Address:

TICS Transaction #: Requester’'s Phone #:
(Obtain from your gun dealer) (Inc. Area Code)

Date Transaction Run: Date Transaction Denied:

| have been denied by TICS the right to purchase a hand gun or long gun in the State of Tennessee
based on a check by my gun dealer through the Tennessee Instant Check System (TICS) and the FBI
National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS). | hereby appeal that denial and request a
review of the record(s) used by TICS in determining that | should be denied the purchase. | understand
that | may be required to provide TICS a full set of inked fingerprints of myself for the purpose of
comparing them with fingerprints associated with the record(s) used in the denial. 1also understand
that | only have 30 days to appeal the denial after it is issued and that TICS is not required to assist
me until such time as | formally appeal the denial. | further understand that the transaction could
be denied by my gun dealer (FFL) and that under such circumstances, TICS neither denied nor
approved my firearm transfer and therefore | have no appeal to TICS. | further understand that
failure to complete this form or to complete it legibly could result in rejection of the form.

(Signature of Requester) (Date)

See instructions on reverse side. Return by fax to: (615) 744-4660

BI-0165 RDA Pending
Rev. June 2009



Instructions for completing the APPEAL OF DENIAL form

The following procedure should be carefully followed to challenge a denied
firearms transfer background check:

1. If your transaction was denied by TICS (not your gun dealer) obtain your unique
Transaction Number from your FFL (dealer). Legibly print the Transaction Number in the appropriate
place on the reverse side of this form. Legibly print the other required information on the form. Include
your complete phone number and current mailing address as well as your e-mail address. Make a copy
of the form and retain it for your file or future use. You may mail the form to:

TICS Unit  Tennessee Bureau of Investigation 901 R. S. Gass Blvd. Nashville, TN
37216-2639
2 You may also send the form by facsimile (FAX) to (615) 744-4660. It should be sent promptly
so as to allow TICS ample time to contact the necessary law enforcement agencies and/or clerk’s offices
and review any documentation they may provide. Do not attempt to hand carry your appeal to the above
address in order to obtain same day service. Do hot submit any documentation with this appeal
form—all documentation MUST come to Tics from the original source agency. By law TICS has 15
calendar days to research and review your attempted firearm transfer after the appeal is received.
However, if more than 30 days elapse after the initial denial of transfer and you have not appealed, your
appeal will not be handled and you will need to begin again with a new attempt to purchase, denial and
appeal.
3 Upon receipt of your appeal form, TICS reviews the documentation used to make the denial.
TICS contacts the arresting agency and requests a final disposition of any “open” charges showing on
your criminal history record. TICS may also contact the clerk of court and the state bureau of
investigation’s state records keeping unit for final disposition information if it is unavailable from the
arresting agency. If TICS is able to obtain a final disposition or other required information, your FFL will
be notified of any change of status for the transaction. You will need to keep in contact with your
gun dealer to see if your appeal has been overturned. If TICS is unable to obtain the final disposition
or other necessary information. TICS will place your transaction into “CONDITIONAL PROCEED” status
and advise your dealer. Your dealer has the option of transferring the firearm to you or not transferring
the firearm, but is not obligated to transfer any firearm to you.
4 If your dealer refuses to transfer a firearm to you based on a “CONDITIONAL PROCEED” status
received from TICS, you were not denied by TICS and have no avenue of appeal to TICS. Criminal
history records maintained by other states or by the FBI cannot be corrected or modified by TICS. That
is the responsibility of each individual state and of the original arresting agency. It is your responsibility
to see that TICS is notified by any out-of-state or federal agency upon correction/modification of your
criminal history record that would effect the original denial decision made by TICS.




