



## **MINUTES**

# TCCY Commission Meeting February 2024

Location: William R. Snodgrass TN Tower, Nashville

Date: Friday, 2/16/2024 Time: 9:00 A.M. EST

TCCY Staff		ABSENT	TCCY Staff		ABSENT
1	Richard Kennedy, Exec. Director		17	Linda Copeland	
2	Craig Hargrow, Deputy Exec.Director		18	Lindsey Cody	
3	Bill Latimer		19	Melissa McGee	
4	Brian Jefferies		20	Marissa Player-Montgomery	
5	Carla Walker		21	Rose Naccarato	
6	Cory Bradfield		22	Russette Marcum-Embry	
8	Dana Cobb		24	Psasha Taylor	
9	Gabi Smith		25	Rob Burke	
11	Jeni Davis		26	Steve Petty	
12	Jerri Moore		27	Sujit Das	
13	Jonquil Newland		28	Susan Cope	
14	Kristi Paling		29	Zanira Whitfield	
15	Kylie Burns				
16	Lea Brandon				

	Commission Members	ABSENT		Commission Members	ABSENT
1	TJ King		12	Michael Rediker	Х
2	Allan Sterbinsky		13	Raymond Jenkins	
3	Altha Stewart		14	Randy "James" Butler	
4	Amy Jones		15	Rob Philyaw, Chair	
5	Ashley Dunkin		16	Sharon Green	
6	Cameron Carver	Х	17	Stan Settles	
7	Charmaine Kromer		18	Brandon Smith	Х
8	Ella Britt		19	Matt Marshall	
9	Billy Worsham		20	Tracey Silverman	
10	Jennifer Donnals		21		
11	Makenzie Johnston	Х			







**Guests:** Judge Sharon Guffee, Williamson County

Judge Andy Brigham, Stewart County

#### Welcome

- Call to Order (Judge Robert Philyaw, Chair)
- Introductions (Judge Robert Philyaw, Chair)
- Roll Call (Jeni Davis)

## **Approvals and Actions**

## **Approval of October 2023 Full Commission Meeting Minutes**

Philyaw asked for a motion to approve the October 2023 Full Commission Meeting minutes.

#### Butler motioned and Dunkin seconded.

Unanimously approved by the commission.

## **Approval of TCCY Budget**

Philyaw asked for a motion to approve the TCCY Budget.

#### Stewart motioned and King seconded.

Unanimously approved by the commission.

#### **Approval of 2024 CAD Award Recipients**

Philyaw asked for a motion to approve the 2024 CAD award recipients.

There was a motion by King to vote on the top 4 candidates for the Jim Pryor Award. Stewart requested an amendment to vote on the top 2 candidates. Butler made a motion to move the 3 other candidates for the Jim Pryor award to the Friend of Children and Stewart seconded.

## King motioned and Stewart seconded.

Unanimously approved by the commission.

#### 2023 State of the Child & 2024 Legislative Update

**Kylie Graves, Director of Data & Impact** 







Graves presented the 2023 State of the Child report and provided an update on legislation that the agency was following

## **2024 Children's Advocacy Days**

## Jonquil Newland, Director of Media Relations

Newland gave an update on the upcoming Children's Advocacy Days event

#### **TCCY Division Talk**

## **Linda Copeland, Director of Youth Justice**

Copeland gave an overview of the Youth Justice division

## **Update from Juvenile Court Judges**

Judge Sharon Guffee, Williamson County Judge Andy Brigham, Stewart County

Judge Guffee and Judge Brigham discussed legislation that the Juvenile Court Judges were following.

## **Directors Report**

Richard Kennedy, Executive Director, TCCY

### Motion to adjourn

Philyaw asked for a motion to adjourn the February 2024 Commission Meeting Butler motioned and King seconded.

*Unanimously approved by the commission.* 

## Meeting adjourned at 12:10 pm





## **MINUTES**

Prepared by Jeni Davis