O N

Agenda Item:	I.B.3.

DATE: July 29, 2010

SUBJECT: Recommendations for Appointments to the Committee on

Postsecondary Educational Institutions

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Approval

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: In 1992, State law created under the auspices of the Commission an advisory committee for recommendations and the review of issues relative to institutions subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Persons appointed shall be broadly representative of the geographical characteristics of Tennessee. Five (5) members of the Committee shall be employed by, hold an ownership in, or otherwise be affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Four (4) members shall be representative of the public interest and shall have no association or relationship with such institutions. Two (2) members shall be representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Of the thirteen (13) members, eleven (11) are appointed with the remaining two (2) serving by virtue of their position as Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and as Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

On June 30, 2010, 4 appointments to the committee expired. Currently, 7 positions on the committee are vacant. Therefore, Commission staff are recommending 4 committee members be reappointed.

1. Reappointment: Ms. Denise D. Bentley

Ms. Bentley is an Attorney for the Metro Board of Education. Her membership represents public interest having no association with such institutions.

2. Reappointment: Ms. Vicki Burch

Ms. Burch is President of West Tennessee Business College. Her membership represents one employed by, holding an ownership in, or otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the Committee's supervision and oversight.

3. Reappointment: Mr. Gaylon Hall

Mr. Hall is Director Emeritus of the William R. Moore College of Technology. He serves as a representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education.

4. Reappointment: Mr. Stephen A. South

Mr. South is the President/Owner of South College. He serves as one employed by, holding an ownership in, or otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the Committee's supervision and oversight.

The staff recommends that Ms. Denise Bentley, Ms. Vicki Burch, Mr. Gaylon Hall, and Mr. Steve South be reappointed to the Committee for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2013. Other members of the committee are:

Dr. Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director, TN Higher Education Commission and TN Student Assistance Corporation

Bill Faour, Director/Owner, Chattanooga College Medical, Dental and Technical Careers

Larry Griffin, President, Mid-South Christian College

Commissions John Keys, Commissioner, TN Department of Veterans Affairs

Dr. Kittie Myatt, Department Chair, Counselor Education Programs, Argosy University