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BACKGROUND INFORMATION 

Since 2010, the Complete College Tennessee Act has required the 

Commission to make student fee and state appropriation recommendations 

concurrently. Numerous factors impacted the tuition recommendation, 

including affordability and financial aid, the income profile of students 

attending Tennessee public institutions, and institutional revenues and cost 

inflation. The FOCUS Act expanded THEC’s authority on student fee levels, 

requiring that the Commission issue binding tuition ranges each year. These 

ranges apply only to resident, undergraduate students on the tuition 

(maintenance fee) rate, as well as the total maintenance and mandatory fee 

charge. 

 

TENNESSEE’S TUITION AND FEE PROFILE 

Average full-time, annual tuition and mandatory fees for 2016-17 is $8,987 at 

public universities, $4,224 at community colleges, and $3,647 at the 

Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology (TCATs). Tennessee’s public higher 

education tuition and fee levels are considered average compared to peers 

across the states in the Southern Regional Education Board. Over the last five 

years, tuition and mandatory fees have increased an average of four to five 

percent across the sectors, while state appropriations have increased an 

average of nearly four percent per year. 

 

Tennessee’s financial aid resources are among the highest in the U.S., 

according to data provided by the National Association of State Student 

Grant Aid Programs (NASSGAP). Tennessee had the fifth largest financial aid 

program in the nation and the fourth largest per capita. Funding for the 

lottery scholarship and the Tennessee Student Assistance Award comprise 

the majority of financial aid. In part due to these funding levels, Tennessee 

college graduates had the 14th lowest debt level in the nation, according to 

data published by the Institute for College Access & Success. It should be 

noted, however, that no data are available for debt among students who do 
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 not graduate. With the introduction of Tennessee Promise in the fall of 2015, 

Tennessee saw a reduction in the number of student loan originations, 

suggesting that the relative debt level of Tennessee students to our state peers 

may continue to decrease in the coming years. 

 

RECOMMENDATION 

At the November 2016 Commission meeting, the Commission approved a 

tuition and fee guidance range of zero to four percent, incorporating a budget 

increase request of $48 million in new state funds. 

 

Taking into account the Governor’s budget recommendation for formula units 

of $55.1 million (inclusive of increases for outcomes productivity and a partially-

funded three percent salary pool), THEC staff maintain the initial 

recommendation of a tuition binding range of zero to four percent at 

universities, community colleges, and TCATs and a combined total tuition and 

mandatory fees binding range of zero to four percent at universities, 

community colleges, and TCATs. Scenarios for minimum and maximum tuition 

and mandatory fee increases for 2017-18 are presented and summarized in 

Attachment I for each university and community college, as well as the TCAT 

system. 

 

Attachment II details the comparison of 2016-17 tuition and mandatory fee 

rates with the maximum allowed increase (i.e., four percent) for each university 

and community college, as well as the TCAT system. Currently, the average full-

time, annual tuition and mandatory fees for 2016-17 is $8,987 at public 

universities, $4,224 at community colleges, and $3,647 at TCATs. If each of these 

institutions increased maintenance and mandatory fees by four percent (the 

maximum allowed), the average full-time, annual tuition and mandatory fees for 

2017-18 would be $9,347 at public universities, $4,393 at community colleges, 

and $3,793 at TCATs—increases of $359, $169, and $146, respectively. 

 

 

 

 

Note: Revisions to this coversheet and attachments are due to a change in 

reporting of Middle Tennessee State University’s Student Government 

Association (SGA) fee and a re-weighting of the university average for 

institutions with differentiated tuition levels. 



Minimum Maximum Minimum Maximum
Austin Peay $0 or Less 261$                     $0 or Less 320$                     
East Tennessee1 $0 or Less 280$                     $0 or Less 347$                     
Middle Tennessee $0 or Less 277$                     $0 or Less 344$                     
Tennessee State $0 or Less 261$                     $0 or Less 303$                     
Tennessee Tech $0 or Less 295$                     $0 or Less 342$                     
University of Memphis $0 or Less 314$                     $0 or Less 380$                     

Chattanooga $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 170$                     
Cleveland $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 169$                     
Columbia $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 168$                     
Dyersburg $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 169$                     
Jackson $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 169$                     
Motlow $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 169$                     
Nashville $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 166$                     
Northeast $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 170$                     
Pellissippi $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 170$                     
Roane $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 169$                     
Southwest $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 169$                     
Volunteer $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 169$                     
Walters $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 169$                     

UT Chattanooga $0 or Less 271$                     $0 or Less 342$                     
UT Knoxville (admitted before 2013-14)2 $0 or Less 369$                     $0 or Less 442$                     
UT Knoxville (admitted in 2013-14) $0 or Less 428$                     $0 or Less 500$                     
UT Knoxville (admitted after 2013-14) $0 or Less 437$                     $0 or Less 509$                     
UT Martin (Full-Time w/ 60+ SCH & All Part-time) 3 $0 or Less 283$                     $0 or Less 339$                     
UT Martin (Full-Time w/ fewer than 60 SCH) $0 or Less 307$                     $0 or Less 364$                     

TN Colleges of Applied Tech $0 or Less 137$                     $0 or Less 146$                     
University Avg4 $0 or Less 299$                     $0 or Less 359$                     
Community College Avg $0 or Less 157$                     $0 or Less 169$                     

4 - This average incorporates a weighted tuition for UT Knoxville and UT Martin students to reflect both institutions' differentiated tuition levels. 

3 - The 2016-17 tuition rate for full-time students who have completed fewer than 60 credit hours was a flat rate for 15 hours a semester regardless of 
how many hours the student is enrolled in. Full-time students with more than 60 credit hours and all part-time students are charged on a per credit basis 
up to 12 credit hours, and are not charged additional fees above that. Therefore, the tuition and fee ranges differentiate based on enrollment status of UT 
Martin students.

2017-18 Binding Tuition Ranges (REVISED)
Maximum Increase of Maintenance (Tuition) and Maintenance + Mandatory Fees: 4.00%

2017-18 Binding Ranges
Maintenance Fee Maintenance + Mandatory Fees

1 - In 2016-17, Freshmen, Sophomores and Juniors paid an additional debt service fee of $240 and an additional Student Activity fee of $50 in FY17 for the 
DP Culp Center renovation. As these classes progress, the additional fees will remain part of the mandatory fees. Therefore, the 2017-18 tuition and fee 
ranges reported in this line will apply to 2017-18 Freshmen, Sophomores, Juniors and Seniors. 

2 - The 2016-17 tuition rate for students admitted in Fall 2013 or later at UT Knoxville were flat rates for 15 semester credit hours, regardless of the 
number of credit hours taken by the student. This policy was approved in 2012 by the UT Board for introduction in Fall 2013. Therefore, the tuition and fee 
ranges will differentiate based on when students enrolled at UT Knoxville.



Combined Combined
Maintenance Fee Mandatory Fee Maintenance + Mandatory Maintenance Fee Mandatory Fee Combined Increase % Increase

Austin Peay 6,522$                       1,473$                       7,995$                                           6,783$                       1,532$                       8,315$                       320$                          4.00%

East Tennessee1 7,002$                       1,669$                       8,671$                                           7,282$                       1,736$                       9,018$                       347$                          4.00%
Middle Tennessee 6,930$                       1,680$                       8,610$                                           7,207$                       1,747$                       8,954$                       344$                          4.00%
Tennessee State 6,528$                       1,039$                       7,567$                                           6,789$                       1,081$                       7,870$                       303$                          4.00%
Tennessee Tech 7,380$                       1,171$                       8,551$                                           7,675$                       1,218$                       8,893$                       342$                          4.00%
University of Memphis 7,860$                       1,637$                       9,497$                                           8,174$                       1,702$                       9,877$                       380$                          4.00%

Chattanooga 3,930$                       319$                          4,249$                                           4,087$                       332$                          4,419$                       170$                          4.00%
Cleveland 3,930$                       299$                          4,229$                                           4,087$                       311$                          4,398$                       169$                          4.00%
Columbia 3,930$                       271$                          4,201$                                           4,087$                       282$                          4,369$                       168$                          4.00%
Dyersburg 3,930$                       299$                          4,229$                                           4,087$                       311$                          4,398$                       169$                          4.00%
Jackson 3,930$                       285$                          4,215$                                           4,087$                       296$                          4,384$                       169$                          4.00%
Motlow 3,930$                       307$                          4,237$                                           4,087$                       319$                          4,406$                       169$                          4.00%
Nashville 3,930$                       225$                          4,155$                                           4,087$                       234$                          4,321$                       166$                          4.00%
Northeast 3,930$                       311$                          4,241$                                           4,087$                       323$                          4,411$                       170$                          4.00%
Pellissippi 3,930$                       323$                          4,253$                                           4,087$                       336$                          4,423$                       170$                          4.00%
Roane 3,930$                       303$                          4,233$                                           4,087$                       315$                          4,402$                       169$                          4.00%
Southwest 3,930$                       305$                          4,235$                                           4,087$                       317$                          4,404$                       169$                          4.00%
Volunteer 3,930$                       293$                          4,223$                                           4,087$                       305$                          4,392$                       169$                          4.00%
Walters 3,930$                       288$                          4,218$                                           4,087$                       300$                          4,387$                       169$                          4.00%

UT Chattanooga 6,768$                       1,776$                       8,544$                                           7,039$                       1,847$                       8,886$                       342$                          4.00%

UT Knoxville (admitted before 2013-14)2 9,228$                       1,810$                       11,038$                                        9,597$                       1,882$                       11,480$                     442$                          4.00%
UT Knoxville (admitted in 2013-14) 10,688$                     1,810$                       12,498$                                        11,116$                     1,882$                       12,998$                     500$                          4.00%
UT Knoxville (admitted after 2013-14) 10,914$                     1,810$                       12,724$                                        11,351$                     1,882$                       13,233$                     509$                          4.00%

UT Martin (Full-Time w/ 60+ SCH & All Part-time)3 7,070$                       1,408$                       8,478$                                           7,353$                       1,464$                       8,817$                       339$                          4.00%
UT Martin (Full-Time w/ fewer than 60 SCH) 7,680$                       1,408$                       9,088$                                           7,987$                       1,464$                       9,452$                       364$                          4.00%

TN Colleges of Applied Tech 3,417$                       230$                          3,647$                                           3,554$                       239$                          3,793$                       146$                          4.00%

University Avg4 7,469$                      1,518$                      8,987$                                          7,768$                      1,579$                      9,347$                      359$                          4.00%
Community College Avg 3,930$                      294$                          4,224$                                          4,087$                      306$                          4,393$                      169$                          4.00%

4 - This average incorporates a weighted tuition for UT Knoxville and UT Martin students to reflect both institutions' differentiated tuition levels. 

2 - The 2016-17 tuition rate for students admitted in Fall 2013 or later at UT Knoxville were flat rates for 15 semester credit hours, regardless of the number of credit hours taken by the student. This policy was approved in 2012 by the UT Board for introduction 
in Fall 2013. Therefore, the tuition and fee ranges will differentiate based on when students enrolled at UT Knoxville.

3 - The 2016-17 tuition rate for full-time students who have completed fewer than 60 credit hours was a flat rate for 15 hours a semester regardless of how many hours the student is enrolled in. Full-time students with more than 60 credit hours and all part-
time students are charged on a per credit basis up to 12 credit hours, and are not charged additional fees above that. Therefore, the tuition and fee ranges differentiate based on enrollment status of UT Martin students.

2017-182016-17

2017-18 Binding Tuition Ranges (REVISED)
2017-18 Maintenance and Mandatory Fee Increase Scenario and Comparison - 4.00% Limit

1 - In 2016-17, Freshmen, Sophomores and Juniors paid an additional debt service fee of $240 and an additional Student Activity fee of $50 in FY17 for the DP Culp Center renovation. As these classes progress, the additional fees will remain part of the 
mandatory fees. Therefore, the 2017-18 tuition and fee ranges reported in this line will apply to 2017-18 Freshmen, Sophomores, Juniors and Seniors. 
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