Agenda Item:

**DATE:** May 17, 2018

## **SUBJECT:** Optional Expedited Authorization under the Tennessee Higher Education Authorization Act of 2016

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Optional Expedited Authorization

**BACKGROUND INFORMATION:** The Commission, under the Tennessee Higher Education Authorization Act of 2016, has the "power and duty" to act upon applications for authorization to operate an educational institution in the state. For the institutions listed below, applications have been reviewed and staff has determined that all necessary documentation has been submitted. The Committee on Postsecondary Educational Institutions met on May 3, 2018 and endorsed staff recommendations for Optional Expedited Authorization of these institutions.

- 1. Ashford University
- 2. Chamberlain University
- 3. Crown College of the Bible
- 4. The Art Institute of Tennessee
- 5. University of St Augustine for Health Sciences
- 6. University of St Augustine for Health Sciences
- 7. University of St Augustine for Health Sciences
- 8. University of St Augustine for Health Sciences
- San Diego, CA Addison, IL Powell, TN Nashville, TN Austin, TX Miami, FL San Marcos, CA St. Augustine, FL