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SUBJECT: Tuition and Fee Ranges   
 
ACTION RECOMMENDED:   Approval 
 
 
BACKGROUND INFORMATION 
Since 2010, the Complete College Tennessee Act has required the 
Commission to make student fee and state appropriation recommendations 
concurrently. Numerous factors impacted the tuition recommendation, 
including affordability and financial aid, the income profile of students 
attending Tennessee public institutions, and institutional revenues and cost 
inflation. The FOCUS Act expanded THEC’s authority on student fee levels, 
requiring that the Commission issue binding tuition ranges each year. These 
ranges apply only to resident, undergraduate students on the tuition 
(maintenance fee) rate, as well as the total maintenance and mandatory fee 
charge. 
 
TENNESSEE’S TUITION AND FEE PROFILE 
Average full-time, annual tuition and mandatory fees for 2018-19 is $9,403 at 
public universities, $4,444 at community colleges, and $3,842 at the 
Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology (TCATs). Over the last five years, 
tuition and mandatory fees have increased an average of three to four 
percent annually, while state appropriations have increased an average of 
seven percent per year. 
 
Tennessee’s financial aid resources are among the highest in the U.S., 
according to the National Association of State Student Grant Aid Programs. 
Tennessee has the eighth largest financial aid program and the third largest 
per capita. Funding for the lottery scholarship and Tennessee Student 
Assistance Award comprises the majority of financial aid in Tennessee. Due in 
part to these funding levels, Tennessee’s bachelor’s degree graduates have 
the 10th lowest debt level in the nation, according to the Project on Student 
Debt.  
 
 
 

T 
E 
N 
N 
E 
S 
S 
E 
E 
 

H 
I 
G 
H 
E 
R 
 

E 
D 
U 
C 
A 
T 
I 
O 
N 
 

C 
O 
M 
M 
I 
S 
S 
I 
O 
N 



 

 RECOMMENDATION 
At the November 2018 Commission meeting, the Commission approved a 
tuition and fee guidance range of zero to two and a half percent, incorporating a 
budget increase request of $64 million in new state funds. 
 
On April 30, both chambers of the 111th General Assembly passed the 2019-20 
General Appropriations Act, granting formula units $56 million (inclusive of 
increases for outcomes productivity and a partially-funded two percent salary 
pool). THEC staff, therefore, maintain the initial recommendation of a tuition 
binding range of zero to two and a half percent at universities, community 
colleges, and TCATs and a combined total tuition and mandatory fees binding 
range of zero to two and a half percent at universities, community colleges, and 
TCATs. Scenarios for minimum and maximum tuition and mandatory fee 
increases for 2019-20 are presented and summarized in Attachment I for each 
university and community college, as well as the TCAT system. 
 
Attachment II details the comparison of 2018-19 tuition and mandatory fee 
rates with the maximum allowed increase (i.e., two and a half percent) for each 
university and community college, as well as the TCAT system. If all institutions 
increased maintenance and mandatory fees by two and a half percent (the 
maximum allowed), the average full-time, annual tuition and mandatory fees for 
2019-20 would be $9,638 at public universities, $4,555 at community colleges, 
and $3,938 at TCATs—increases of $235, $111, and $96, respectively. 



Minimum Maximum Minimum Maximum
Austin Peay $0 or Less 172$                    $0 or Less 212$                           
East Tennessee $0 or Less 186$                    $0 or Less 232$                           
Middle Tennessee $0 or Less 184$                    $0 or Less 230$                           
Tennessee State $0 or Less 172$                    $0 or Less 200$                           
Tennessee Tech $0 or Less 196$                    $0 or Less 228$                           
University of Memphis $0 or Less 202$                    $0 or Less 243$                           

Chattanooga $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 111$                           
Cleveland $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 111$                           
Columbia $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 112$                           
Dyersburg $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 111$                           
Jackson $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 111$                           
Motlow $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 111$                           
Nashville $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 110$                           
Northeast $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 111$                           
Pellissippi $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 112$                           
Roane $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 111$                           
Southwest $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 111$                           
Volunteer $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 111$                           
Walters $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 111$                           

UT Chattanooga $0 or Less 172$                    $0 or Less 217$                           
UT Knoxville (admitted after 2013-14) $0 or Less 278$                    $0 or Less 325$                           

UT Martin (Part-Time & Full-Time w/ 90+ SCH) 1 $0 or Less 185$                    $0 or Less 222$                           

UT Martin (Full-Time w/ less than 90 SCH) 1 $0 or Less 201$                    $0 or Less 238$                           

TN Colleges of Applied Tech $0 or Less 90$                      $0 or Less 96$                             

University Average2 $0 or Less 195$                    $0 or Less 235$                           
Community College Average $0 or Less 104$                    $0 or Less 111$                           

2 - This average incorporates a weighted tuition for UT Martin students to reflect both differentiated tuition levels. 

Institutions

Attatchment I - 2019-20 Binding Tuition Ranges
Maximum Increase of Maintenance (Tuition) and Maintenance + Mandatory Fees: 2.50%

2019-20 Binding Ranges
Maintenance Fee Maintenance + Mandatory Fees

1 - The tuition rate for full-time students who have completed fewer than 90-credit hours is a flat rate for 12 hours per semester, regardless how 
many hours the student is enrolled. Full-time students who have completed more than 90-credit hours are also charged a flat rate for 12 hours, 
regardless how many hours the student is enrolled. Part-time students are charged on a per-credit hour basis at the 90+ credit hour rate.



Combined Combined

Maintenance Fee Mandatory Fee Combined
Maximum 

Maintenance Fee
Mandatory Fee

Maximum 
Combined Fee

Increase % Increase

Austin Peay 6,888$                      1,583$                      8,471$        7,060$                      1,623$                      8,683$                      212$                  2.50%
East Tennessee 7,422$                      1,855$                      9,277$        7,608$                      1,901$                      9,509$                      232$                  2.50%
Middle Tennessee 7,380$                      1,826$                      9,206$        7,565$                      1,872$                      9,436$                      230$                  2.50%
Tennessee State 6,900$                      1,107$                      8,007$        7,073$                      1,135$                      8,207$                      200$                  2.50%
Tennessee Tech 7,860$                      1,243$                      9,103$        8,057$                      1,274$                      9,331$                      228$                  2.50%
University of Memphis 8,064$                      1,637$                      9,701$        8,266$                      1,678$                      9,944$                      243$                  2.50%

Chattanooga 4,140$                      319$                         4,459$        4,244$                      327$                         4,570$                      111$                  2.50%
Cleveland 4,140$                      299$                         4,439$        4,244$                      306$                         4,550$                      111$                  2.50%
Columbia 4,140$                      333$                         4,473$        4,244$                      341$                         4,585$                      112$                  2.50%
Dyersburg 4,140$                      299$                         4,439$        4,244$                      306$                         4,550$                      111$                  2.50%
Jackson 4,140$                      285$                         4,425$        4,244$                      292$                         4,536$                      111$                  2.50%
Motlow 4,140$                      305$                         4,445$        4,244$                      313$                         4,556$                      111$                  2.50%
Nashville 4,140$                      255$                         4,395$        4,244$                      261$                         4,505$                      110$                  2.50%
Northeast 4,140$                      311$                         4,451$        4,244$                      319$                         4,562$                      111$                  2.50%
Pellissippi 4,140$                      339$                         4,479$        4,244$                      347$                         4,591$                      112$                  2.50%
Roane 4,140$                      303$                         4,443$        4,244$                      311$                         4,554$                      111$                  2.50%
Southwest 4,140$                      319$                         4,459$        4,244$                      327$                         4,570$                      111$                  2.50%
Volunteer 4,140$                      293$                         4,433$        4,244$                      300$                         4,544$                      111$                  2.50%
Walters 4,140$                      288$                         4,428$        4,244$                      295$                         4,539$                      111$                  2.50%

UT Chattanooga 6,888$                      1,776$                      8,664$        7,060$                      1,820$                      8,881$                      217$                  2.50%
UT Knoxville (admitted after 2013-14) 11,110$                    1,896$                      13,006$      11,388$                    1,943$                      13,331$                    325$                  2.50%
UT Martin (Part-Time & Full-Time w/ 90+ SCH) 1 7,416$                      1,460$                      8,876$        7,601$                      1,497$                      9,098$                      222$                  2.50%
UT Martin (Full-Time w/ less than 90 SCH) 1 8,052$                      1,460$                      9,512$        8,253$                      1,497$                      9,750$                      238$                  2.50%

TN Colleges of Applied Tech 3,612$                      230$                         3,842$        3,702$                      236$                         3,938$                      96$                    2.50%

University Average2 7,805$                      1,598$                      9,403$        8,000$                      1,638$                      9,638$                      235$                  2.50%
Community College Average 4,140$                      304$                         4,444$        4,244$                      311$                         4,555$                      111$                  2.50%

1 - The tuition rate for full-time students who have completed fewer than 90-credit hours is a flat rate for 12 hours per semester, regardless how many hours the student is enrolled. Full-time students who have completed more 
than 90-credit hours are also charged a flat rate for 12 hours, regardless how many hours the student is enrolled. Part-time students are charged on a per-credit hour basis at the 90+ credit hour rate.

2 - This average incorporates a weighted tuition for UT Martin students to reflect both differentiated tuition levels. 

Attatchment II - 2019-20 Binding Tuition Ranges
2019-20 Maintenance and Mandatory Fee Increase Scenario and Comparison - 2.50% Limit

Institutions
2018-19 2019-20 Maximums
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