
 
DATE:  November 6, 2020 
 
SUBJECT:  2021-22 Student Fee Recommendations 
               
   
ACTION RECOMMENDED:   Approval 
 
 
BACKGROUND INFORMATION 

The Complete College Tennessee Act requires the Tennessee Higher Education 
Commission (THEC) to make student fee and state appropriation recommendations 
concurrently. Numerous factors impact the tuition recommendation, including 
affordability and financial aid, institutional revenues, and cost inflation factors. The 
FOCUS Act expanded THEC’s authority on student fee levels, requiring that THEC issue 
binding tuition ranges each year. These ranges apply to resident, undergraduate 
students’ tuition (maintenance fee) rate, as well as the combined tuition and 
mandatory fee charge, and are set following the General Assembly’s approval of a 
budget in the spring. The ranges recommended for approval today are intended for 
guidance. 

TENNESSEE’S TUITION AND FEE PROFILE 

Average full-time, annual tuition and mandatory fees for 2020-21 is $9,751 at public 
universities, $4,553 at community colleges, and $3,936 at the Tennessee Colleges of 
Applied Technology (TCATs). Tennessee’s public higher education tuition and fee 
levels are considered average compared to peers across member states of the 
Southern Regional Education Board. Tennessee institutions implemented the lowest 
consecutive growth in decades in the five years leading up to 2020-21 as state 
appropriations increased, on average, seven percent per year. Institutions maintained 
their commitment to an affordable college education in 2020-21 as all institutions held 
tuition and fees flat for Tennesseans despite no growth in state appropriations. 

RECOMMENDATION 

Staff recommendations for operating appropriations, student fees, and need-based 
financial aid work in concert to promote continuous improvement in affordability. On 
average, tuition and fees revenue accounts for roughly 60 percent of revenue at the 
universities, 50 percent at the community colleges and 33 percent at the TCATs. The 
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combined tuition and appropriation revenue for all formula units is approximately $3.0 
billion, with state appropriations comprising $1.2 billion. An appropriation request for 
formula units of $36 million represents about a three  percent growth in appropriation 
revenue but just a one percent increase in total revenue. Institutions receiving state 
appropriation increases below three percent may need to rely on modest tuition increases 
to keep up with the outside forces such as inflation, while institutions receiving more than 
three percent may need little to no tuition increases. 

Considering an appropriations request for formula units of $36 million and an estimated two 
percent salary increase, THEC staff recommend a guiding tuition (maintenance fee) range of 
zero to three percent, as well as a guiding tuition and mandatory fee range of zero to three 
percent for all public universities, community colleges, and TCATs. 

Scenarios for tuition increases in 2021-22 of zero, one-and-a-half, and three percent are 
presented and summarized in Attachment I. Attachment II provides a history of tuition and 
mandatory fee increases across all public institutions as well as the results of the tuition 
model based on different funding scenarios. 

At this time, staff recommend the Commission adopt the tuition and tuition and mandatory 
fee ranges as guidance only, with flexibility to approve final, binding ranges later in the fiscal 
year once clarity around the state budget and overall impact on higher education funding is 
determined. 
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Universities
CCs
TCATs

2020-21

Increase Change Increase Change
APSU $7,044 $7,044 $7,150 $106 $7,255 $211
ETSU 7,572                    7,572        7,686        114           7,799        227           
MTSU 7,554                    7,554        7,667        113           7,781        227           
TSU 7,026                    7,026        7,131        105           7,237        211           
TTU (Prior to Fall 2020)1 8,040                    8,040        8,161        121           8,281        241           
TTU (Fall 2020)1 9,060                    9,060        9,196        136           9,332        272           
UM (Non-Guaranteed)2 8,208                    8,208        8,331        123           8,454        246           
UM (Guaranteed)2 8,232                    8,232        8,355        123           8,479        247           
UTC (Soar in Four)3 7,836                    7,836        7,954        118           8,071        235           
UTC (Returning)3 7,060                    7,060        7,166        106           7,272        212           
UTK 11,332                 11,332      11,502      170           11,672      340           
UTM 8,214                    8,214        8,337        123           8,460        246           
CC Avg 4,242                    4,242        4,306        64             4,369        127           
TCATs 3,687                    3,687        3,742        55             3,798        111           

ATTACHMENT I
2021-22 Tuition and Fee Recommendation

= 1.5% = 3.0%= 0.0%

Tuition Levels

0% to 3.0% Tuition Increase
0% to 3.0% Tuition Increase
0% to 3.0% Tuition Increase

2021-22 Scenarios

Tuition
Tuition Increase

2 - Beginning in 2019-20, the University of Memphis began to offer a "guaranteed tuition" option to undergraduate 
students. All incoming first-time, full-time freshmen will be eligible to enroll in the guaranteed tuition plan, which 
guarantees the Fall 2019 tuition rate for eight consecutive regular semesters if they take at least 12 credit hours per 
semester.

3 - Beginning in 2019-20, first-time, full-time students enrolled at UT Chattanooga pay a flat rate for 15 credit hours per 
semester, regardless of how many hours taken. Returning and part-time students are charged a flat rate for 12 credit 
hours per semester, regardless of how many hours are taken. 

Note: "Tuition" is used here for ease of understanding, though UT, TBR, and the LGIs use the term 
"Maintenance Fee" when discussing tuition.

1 - Full-time students admitted in Fall 2020 at Tennessee Technological University will pay a flat rate for 15 credit hours 
per semester, regardless of the number of hours take. Full-time students admitted prior to Fall 2020 and part-time 
students will be charged a per credit hour rate for the first 12 credit hours and a discounted rate for additional hours.

3



Increase Change Increase Change
APSU $1,583 $7,044 $8,627 $8,627 $8,756 $129 $8,886 $259
ETSU 1,919               7,572               9,491               9,491              9,633              142                 9,776              285                 
MTSU 1,870               7,554               9,424               9,424              9,565              141                 9,707              283                 
TSU 1,157               7,026               8,183               8,183              8,306              123                 8,428              245                 
TTU (Prior to Fall 2020)1 1,278               8,040               9,318               9,318              9,458              140                 9,598              280                 
TTU (Fall 2020)1 1,278               9,060               10,338             10,338            10,493            155                 10,648            310                 
UM (Non-Guaranteed)2 1,704               8,208               9,912               9,912              10,061            149                 10,209            297                 
UM (Guaranteed)2 1,704               8,232               9,936               9,936              10,085            149                 10,234            298                 
UTC (Soar in Four)3 1,820               7,836               9,656               9,656              9,801              145                 9,946              290                 
UTC (Returning)3 1,820               7,060               8,880               8,880              9,013              133                 9,146              266                 
UTK 1,932               11,332             13,264             13,264            13,463            199                 13,662            398                 
UTM 1,534               8,214               9,748               9,748              9,894              146                 10,040            292                 
CC Avg 311                  4,242               4,553               4,553              4,621              68                   4,689              137                 
TCATs 249                  3,687               3,936               3,936              3,995              59                   4,054              118                 

2 - Beginning in 2019-20, the University of Memphis began to offer a "guaranteed tuition" option to undergraduate students. All incoming first-time, full-time freshmen will be eligible to 
enroll in the guaranteed tuition plan, which guarantees the Fall 2019 tuition rate for eight consecutive regular semesters if they take at least 12 credit hours per semester.
3 - Beginning in 2019-20, first-time, full-time students enrolled at UT Chattanooga pay a flat rate for 15 credit hours per semester, regardless of how many hours taken. Returning and part-
time students are charged a flat rate for 12 credit hours per semester, regardless of how many hours are taken. 

Note: "Tuition" is used here for ease of understanding, though UT, TBR, and the LGIs use the term "Maintenance Fee" when discussing tuition.

 Mandatory 
Fees 

Tuition Total
= 0.0%

= 1.5% = 3.0%

1 - Full-time students admitted in Fall 2020 at Tennessee Technological University will pay a flat rate for 15 credit hours per semester, regardless of the number of hours take. Full-time 
students admitted prior to Fall 2020 and part-time students will be charged a per credit hour rate for the first 12 credit hours and a discounted rate for additional hours.

2020-21
Tuition and Fee Increase

ATTACHMENT I
2021-22 Tuition and Fee Recommendation

Universities
CCs
TCATs

2021-22 Scenarios

0% to 3.0% Tuition and Fee Increase
0% to 3.0% Tuition and Fee Increase
0% to 3.0% Tuition and Fee Increase

Tuition and Fee Levels
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2015-16 2019-20 2020-21
1 Year 

Change
5 Year 

Change
APSU $7,801 $8,627 $8,627 0.0% 10.6%
ETSU 8,332              9,491              9,491              0.0% 13.9%
MTSU 8,404              9,424              9,424              0.0% 12.1%
TSU 7,417              8,183              8,183              0.0% 10.3%
TTU (Prior to Fall 2020)1 8,353              9,318              9,318              0.0% 11.6%
TTU (Fall 2020)1 10,338            
UM (Non-Guaranteed)2 9,269              9,912              9,912              0.0% 6.9%
UM (Guaranteed)2 9,936              9,936              0.0%
UTC (Soar in Four)3 9,656              9,656              0.0%
UTC (Returning)3 8,356              8,880              8,880              0.0% 6.3%
UTK 11,948            13,264            13,264            0.0% 11.0%
UTM 8,326              9,748              9,748              0.0% 17.1%
CC Avg 4,121              4,553              4,553              0.0% 10.5%
TCATs 3,554              3,936              3,936              0.0% 10.7%

2015-16 2019-20 2020-21
1 Year 

Change
5 Year 

Change
APSU $1,453 $1,583 $1,583 0.0% 8.9%
ETSU 1,504              1,919              1,919              0.0% 27.6%
MTSU 1,648              1,870              1,870              0.0% 13.5%
TSU 1,039              1,157              1,157              0.0% 11.4%
TTU 1,171              1,278              1,278              0.0% 9.1%
UM 1,583              1,704              1,704              0.0% 7.6%
UTC 1,732              1,820              1,820              0.0% 5.1%
UTK 1,758              1,932              1,932              0.0% 9.9%
UTM 1,408              1,534              1,534              0.0% 8.9%
CC Avg 293                 311                 311                 0.0% 5.9%
TCATs 230                 249                 249                 0.0% 8.3%

ATTACHMENT II
Tuition and Mandatory Fees History

Tuition and Mandatory Fees History

Mandatory Fees Only History

2 - Beginning in 2019-20, the University of Memphis began to offer a "guaranteed tuition" option to undergraduate 
students. All incoming first-time, full-time freshmen will be eligible to enroll in the guaranteed tuition plan, which 
guarantees the Fall 2019 tuition rate for eight consecutive regular semesters if they take at least 12 credit hours 
per semester.
3 - Beginning in 2019-20, first-time, full-time students enrolled at UT Chattanooga pay a flat rate for 15 credit hours 
per semester, regardless of how many hours taken. Returning and part-time students are charged a flat rate for 
12 credit hours per semester, regardless of how many hours are taken. 

1 - Full-time students admitted in Fall 2020 at Tennessee Technological University will pay a flat rate for 15 credit 
hours per semester, regardless of the number of hours take. Full-time students admitted prior to Fall 2020 and 
part-time students will be charged a per credit hour rate for the first 12 credit hours and a discounted rate for 
additional hours.
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Model Assumptions University CCs TCATs
Costs Inflation 1.4% 1.4% 1.4%

Enrollment 1.0% 5.0% 2.5%
State Appropriations 4.7% 6.4% 4.0%

Average Tuition Model Range

Model Assumptions Universities CCs TCATs
Costs Inflation 1.4% 1.4% 1.4%

Enrollment 1.0% 5.0% 2.5%
State Appropriations -0.4% 1.3% -1.0%

Average Tuition Model Range

Note: The recommendation is based on an assumed costs inflation rate of 1.4% as determined by the Consumer Price Index.

Average Increase With Overall Flat Appropriations

ATTACHMENT II
2021-22 Tuition Model Analysis Scenarios

The following scenarios utilize the THEC Tuition Model to estimate the tuition range required to maintain 
the 2020-21 estimated total revenue per FTE. The scenarios assume a 1.0% enrollment growth at 
universities, a 5.0% enrollment growth at community colleges, a 2.5% enrollment growth at colleges of 
applied technology, a 1.4% increase in inflation costs, and an estimated 2.0% salary increase at all 
institutions. This analysis is presented for information and is meant to provide guidance on the tuition 
recommendation. Binding tuition recommendations will be made in Spring 2021 in conjunction with the 
General Appropriations Act.

Average Increase With a $59.0M (5.1%) Increase in State Appropriations1

-4.1% to 3.1%

-0.8% to 12.1%

1- Based on a request of $36M for outcomes productivity and $23M for partial funding of an estimated 2
percent increase in salary, resulting in a total appropriation recommendation of $59M.
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