

TENNESSEE HIGHER EDUCATION COMMISSION

REGULAR CALENDAR ITEM: VII.

MEETING DATE: July 28, 2022

SUBJECT: Selection of THEC/TSAC Joint Audit Committee Member

ITEM TYPE: Action

ACTION RECOMMENDATION: Approval

BACKGROUND

The THEC/TSAC Joint Audit Committee Charter outlines the requirements for membership on the audit committee. The committee and its chair shall be selected by the Executive Director of THEC/TSAC and confirmed by the selected member's respective Commission/Board of Directors. The Audit Committee shall consist of five (5) members with representation from both organizations who are generally knowledgeable in financial, management, and auditing matters. The committee chair shall have some accounting or financial management expertise. Each member shall serve for a term not to exceed three (3) years and may be reappointed. Each member shall be free of any appearance of conflict and of any relationship that would interfere with his or her exercise of independent judgment. The appointed term of THEC's former committee member Nancy Dishner expired on June 30, 2022.

The current composition of the audit committee is:

- Pam Koban, Chair, representing THEC
- Doree Hicks, designee for Commissioner of Finance and Administration, representing TSAC
- Dr. Claude Pressnell, representing TSAC
- Vernon Stafford, representing THEC

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR RECOMMENDATION

Executive Director Dr. Emily House recommends that THEC Commissioner Jay Moser be appointed to a three-year term of the Combined Audit Committee commencing immediately.