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2017 STATISTICS

Chart 13. Number of fatal work-related occupational injuries
Tennessee, 2008-2017
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SOURCE: Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, December 18, 2018




2017 STATISTICS

Chart 14. Number of fatal work-related occupational injuries by major occupational group
Tennessee, 2017 (128 fatalities)
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2017 STATISTICS

Chart 15. Percent distribution of fatal work-related occupational injuries by worker activity
Tennessee, 2017 (128 fatalities)
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2017 STATISTICS

Chart 16. Percent distribution of fatal work-related occupational injuries by event or exposure
Tennessee, 2017 (128 fatalities)
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A NOTE ABOUT CAUSATION

*Not part of this talk

Except to say: it’s the same as always . . .
although in causation disputes the key witness

1S M1ssIng.

* “We are not unmindful of the challenges some employers may face in defending
claims where the employee has died. After all, the key witness is no longer
available. Thus, it may be difficult or even impossible in some cases to fully explore
issues such as causation and extent of disability. Yet, these same challenges will be
faced by the employee's personal representative, so neither party should enjoy an
advantage over the other. Indeed, it may be impossible in some cases following the
worker's death to determine whether he or she is entitled to any benefits.”

Warrick v. Cheatham Cty. Highway Dep't, 60 S.W.3d 815, 820 (Tenn. 2001).




IN'A DEATH CLAIM, WHAT IS THE DATE

OF INJURY?

* Date of injury matters because it determines the controlling law and
applicable maximum total benefit.

* The date of injury is the date of the accident that resulted in death.

* Example:
* Accident/Injury occurred May 16.
 Employee hospitalized for 6 days.
- Employee died on the 7" day, May 23.
* The date of injury is May 16, not May 23.

* It’s probably a TTD claim until the IW dies.

+ If there is a death by occupational disease, call a lawyer. It’s very
complicated and fact-dependent. This is its own 60 minute talk.



DEDUCTIONS

* A death claim is held by the dependent(s)/tfamily.
* The death claim is separate from the IW’s TTD/PPD or PTD claim.

+ However, there is a deduction in § 207(5)

* “In case a worker sustains an injury due to an accident arising primarily out of
and in the course and scope of the worker's employment, and during the period
of disability caused by the injury death results proximately from the injury, all
payments previously made as compensation for the injury shall be deducted
from the compensation, if any, due on account of death.”



DEATH CLAIMS: 3 BENEFITS

1. Burial/Funeral Costs
2. Medical/Emergency Bills

3. Money Paid to Dependents



1. BURIAL AND FUNERAL COSTS

Up to $7,500 for injuries on & before May 18,
2017.

- Up to $10,000 for injuries on & after May 19,
2017.

Many times the Employer will voluntarily pay
beyond this amount.



2. MEDICAL & EMERGENCY BILLS

* § 204(c) says “medical and hospital services.” Ambulance, Life
Flight, emergency room, ICU, etc. All medical services.

* Be patient gathering these bills. In death cases medical bills
come from several different places and providers, most/all of
which rendered medical assistance without regard to who
would ultimately pay:.

* Be diligent. Work hard to ensure a bill doesn’t end up in the
mailbox of a widow, widower, orphan, or other close family
member.



AUTOPSY

* §204(e)

* “In all death claims where the cause of death is obscure or is disputed, any
interested party may require an autopsy, the cost of which is to be borne by
the party demanding the autopsy.”

Are you sure you want to do this?




3. DEATH BENEFITS TO
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WHO MIGHT BE DEPENDENTS<?

*‘They’re listed in § 210.

‘Spouse, kids, stepkids, parents,
grandparents, siblings, mother-in-law,
and father-in-law may qualify for a
share of death benetfits.

*‘The hardest part is identifying all
qualified dependents.



DEPENDENTS: SPOUSE

* Surviving spouse always qualifies.

* Even if not technically married. The key is “dependency” and good faith
belief of marriage.

 However, the surviving spouse does not qualify if voluntarily living apart at
the time of injury.
* The reason for separation matters.
* Spouse gets benefits if separation was due to economic distress/necessity.
* Spouse gets benetfits if separation was involuntarily.
* Separation due to abuse does not disqualify.
- Extra-marital affairs are a popular inquiry in older cases.
* Courts have discretion.



DEPENDENTS: KIDS

* The decedent’s kids get benefits.
* Kids under 16 are conclusively qualified as dependents.

* Kids 16-18 are “prima facie dependent” and qualify (unless they’ve emancipated
themselves).

+ Kids 18+ in a “recognized educational institution” qualify until age 22.

- All kids 18+ or older who are physically or mentally incapacitated from earning
also qualify.

- Stepkids quality.

* Grandchildren, in certain circumstances. Often a q]uestion of fact: key is whether
the deceased grandparent supported the grandchild as if his or her own child.

* The idea is to include kids who have effectively lost a parent.



DEPENDENTS: OTHER FAMILY MEMBERS

* The decedent's parents, mother-in-law, father-in-law, siblings, and
grandparents qualify only if:

* The individual regularly derived support from the deceased employee, and

* Support went on “for a reasonable period of time immediately prior to the time
of death.”

* There is no co-habitation requirement.

* “Support” is not just money. It can be housing, transportation, food,
providing medical benefits, and other basic necessities of life.



WHEN THE FAMILY DISAGREES

* About who qualifies: The Court of WC Claims can hear the case and
determine who qualifies as dependents and who gets what percentage of
the weekly benetit.

* About who gets what:

* Actual dependents who were “wholly supported” by the deceased are preferred
over partial dependents, whose support from the deceased was only a part of
their total support. Partial dependents can only take a share equal to the
deceased’s support in relation to the partial dependent’s total support.

* Priority order: first, the spouse, then child, followed by the mother, father,
grandparent, sister, brother, mother-in-law, and father-in-law.



IF NO DEPENDENTS

* Pay $20,000 to the Estate of the Deceased.
 Reminder: up to $10,000 in funeral/burial.
* Plus medicals.

 What happens if the Estate hasn’t been opened?
* Send a letter to the family.
* Investigate. Find out what’s going on.

* File a PBD requesting ADR.
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FIRST, AVOID COMMON ERRORS

* Error: Maximum exposure is limited 400 weeks or 450 weeks x the

J . 4/

decedent’s “comp rate.”

* Correct: Maximum exposure is the same for every claimant injured between
July 1 and June 30. Only the rate of payment varies.

* Error: Paying benefits indefinitely.

* Correct: You pay until all dependents disqualify (age, remarriage, death) or
the maximum total benefit is reached.

* Error: No court approval needed.

* Correct: All claims must be settled and court-approved, or subject to a
hearing producing a final order.



FOLLOW THESE STEPS

* First, compute the maximum total death benetfit.

* Second, determine which dependents to pay, and the rate you pay them.

+ Third, figure out for how long you pay them, then monitor their status.



STEP 1: WHAT'S THE MAXIMUM DEATH

BENEFIT POSSIBLY OWED<

* It's not in one place in the statute.

* § 210(e) says death compensation is paid during dependency not to exceed
the “maximum total benefit.”

+ § 102(15) defines “Maximum total benefit” as 450 weeks times 100% of the
state’s average weekly wage as defined by §102(16)(B).

* §102(16)(B) defines the state’s average weekly wage as an annual number
etfective July 1. It’s published here:

 Don’t worry, this is easy, see the next slide:


https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/workforce/documents/max_and_min_comp_rates.pdf

MAXIMUM TOTAL BENEFIT

TENNESSEE WORKERS™ COMPENSATION

WEEKLY COMPENSATION RATES; DEATH BENEFITS; FUNERAL EXPENSES; MEDICAL BENEFITS
Temporary Benefits Permanent Benefits
Mini Rate |Benefit | State Av | % of Avg Maxi Rate | % of Avg Wk |Masi Rate Body as |Max Total Medical Statute
Yo Wk Wk Wage |for Wage for for Whole | Benefit
Wage |for Temporary |PPD Permanent
Temporary |Benefits Benefits

7714590 - b/30/91 535.00] B6.67% $273.00 5273.00( 400 wks| 3109200 unlimited unlimited
71081 - 7131192 $35.00| B6.6T7% $294.00 $294.00| 400 wks| $117,600 unlimited unlimited
8/1/92 - b/30/93 535.00] 66.67% 78% $315.24 T8% 5316.24 [ 400 wks| $127.296 unlimited unlimited
71193 - b/30/94 64.80| B6.6T% 52.40% $355.57 62.40% 530597 400 wks| $142,3588 unlimited unlimited
711194 - B/30/95 b66.15| B6.67% 56.80% $382.79 86.80% 53682.79| 400 wks| $153.116 unlimited unlimited
711495 - b/30/96 65.40| B6.67% 81.20% $415.87 91.20% 541587 [ 400 wks|  $166,348 unlimited unlimited
711196 - B30T 571.10( B6.67% 95.60% $453.14 95.60% 5453.14| 400 wks| $1581.256 unlimited unlimited
7114897 - B/30/98 $73.80| B6.6T% 100.00% $452.00 100.00% 5492.00| 400 wks| $196.800 unlimited unlimited
T/1/98 - b/30/95 B77.25] BE.BT% 100.00% $515.00 100.00% 5515.00( 400 wks| $206,000 unlimited unlimited
7/1/99 — 6/30/00 $81.15| BB.6T7% 100.00% $541.00 100.00% 5541.00] 400 wks|  $216.400 unlimited unlimited
771400 — 6/30/01 564.30| B6.67% 100.00% $562.00 100.00% 5562.00( 400 wks| $224,600 unlimited unlimited
71101 — 6/30/02 67.15] BE.BT% 100.00% $561.00 100.00% 556100 400 wks| 3232400 unlimited unlimited
7/1/02 — 6/30/03 5B9.85| B6.6T% 100.00% $559.00 100.00% 5599.00( 400 wks| $239.600 unlimited unlimited
71403 — 6/30/04 $92.70| B6.67% 100.00% $615.00 100.00% 5616.00( 400 wks| 5247200 unlimited unlimited
7/1/04 - 63005 $95.70| B6.67% 105.00% $670.00 100.00% 5638.00( 400 wks| 3255200 unlimited unlimited
7/1/05 - B/30/06 $99.45| B6.6T% 110.00% $729.00 100.00% 5663.00| 400 wks| $265.200 unlimited unlimited
711106 - 63007 5102.30| B6.67% 110.00% $750.00 100.00% 56582.00( 400 wks| $272,600 unlimited unlimited
71107 - b/30/08 5106.95| B6.67% 110.00% $7564.00 100.00% 5713.00( 400 wks|  $285,200 unlimited unlimited
7/1/08 - b/30/05 3112.80| 66.67% 110.00% $527.00 100.00% 5752.00( 400 wks| $300,600 unlimited unlimited
7/1/08 - b/30M10 3114.15] 66.67% 110.00% $537.00 100.00% 5761.00( 400 wks| $304,400 unlimited unlimited
71110 - 63011 3114.75] BB.ET% 110.00% $641.50 100.00% 5765.00( 400 wks| $306.000 unlimited unlimited
711 -6/3012 $118.35| 66.67% 110.00% $567.50 100.00% 57589.00( 400 wks|  $315,600 unlimited unlimited
71112 - b30M3 512090 B6.67% 110.00% $066.60 100.00% 5006.00( 400 wks| $322 400 unlimited unlimited
71113 - 63014 5125.25| BB.ET% 110.00% $918.50 100.00% 583500 400 wks| $334.000 unlimited unlimited
71114 - b/30M5 5127.20| B6.67% 110.00% $932.80 100.00% 5045.00( 450 wks| $381.,600 unlimited unlimited
71115 - b30M6 5128.70| B6.67% 110.00% $943.80 100.00% 5058.00( 450 wks| $366,100 unlimited unlimited
71116 - 63017 5133.20| b6.6T% 110.00% $976.80 100.00% 588600 450 wks| $399.600 unlimited unlimited
THAT - 63018 5135.30| B6.67% 110.00% $952.20 100.00% 5902.00( 450 wks|  $405,900 unlimited unlimited
7118 - B/30/19 5139.35| BBET% 110.00%]  $1.021.90 100.00% 5929.00| 450 wks| $418,050 unlimited unlimited




STEP 2: DETERMINE THE RATE TO PAY

DEPENDENTS

* Surviving spouse only: 50% of the AWW.

* Surviving spouse and dependent child or children: 66 2/3% of the AWW.
Note the court can decide how this money is divided up, and it may
appoint a guardian ad litem. (More about this later).

* One dependent child only: 50% of the AWW.

* Two or more dependent children only: 66 2/3% of the AWW.
* Parent: 25% of the AWW.

* Parents: 35% of the AWW.

* Grandparent, brother, sister, mother-in-law, father-in-law: 20% of the AWW
if only one, 25% of the AWW if more than one, divided equally.



STEP 3: HOW LONG DO YOU PAY

BENEFITS

* Until the maximum total benetfit is paid.
* Benefits may end sooner.

- Benefits end when:
* The dependent dies.
* The dependent remarries.

* The dependent turns 18, or if attending a recognized educational institution,
when he or she turns 22.

* Benefits continue for kids mentally or physically incapacitated from earning a
wage until their death or marriage.

- Employers and insurers should monitor dependent status.



EXAMPLE

+ IW dies July 2, 2018.

* Her AWW was $600.

* She left two dependents, her husband and 8 year old son.

* The maximum death benefit is $418,050 paid out over time.
* Her husband and son collect $400 per week.

* Benefits continue until both disqualify for benefits or $418,050 is paid.
* Husband’s death or remarriage ends his benefit.
+ Son’s death, 18t birthday, or if he goes to school, 22"9 birthday, ends his benefit.



RECALCULATING BENEFITS

- Example: Employee killed August 1, 2017.
- Determine max total benefit. $405,900.
- Identify dependents. Spouse, three kids Liliana (23), Diego (17), and Caroline (15).

- Compute the rate. AWW $600. Spouse, Diego, and Caroline are beneficiaries, court
doesn’t think a G.A.L. is needed, so money is paid to Spouse at $400 per week. Spouse
manages money for Diego and Caroline, each' week she puts $75 in an account for each.

* Diego turns 18, finishes high school, joins the Air Force. Spouse stops putting aside
money for Diego because he is disqualified. Benefits remain $400 per week.

- Caroline graduates from high school and moves away to college. Benefits continue at
$Lf10191 pﬁr We%k;lgowever, her mom directs $150 of it t0 go to Caroline now that she’s out
of the household.

- Caroline turns 22 on February 1, 2024. Spouse now gets Y2 the AWW, or $300/week.

* Spouse aemarries July 1, 2028. Benefits end, even though only $227,828.60 of $405,900
was paid.



EMPLOYERS: NOT SURE WHO TO PAY%®

* File a PBD. Notity all potential dependents.

* Tell the mediator: we know we owe x dollars per week, but we don’t know
who to pay.

- If the mediator can’t get the putative dependents to agree, ask for a DCN
and get it into Court.

* Why? You owe it. People have needs. Let the Court sort it out.

* I've (David) filed and paid into the Chancery Court. I don’t know if the
CWCC is set up to do this.



REMEMBER!

- All lives are worth the same maximum.

‘But the rate at which dependents are paid
varies and changes.

*This wasn’t always the law: used to be you
paid 400 weeks x 66 & 2/3 the AWW.

‘Now, it’s a two step process: (1) the max is
the same for everyone and (2) the rate at
which benetfits are paid will vary by case.



LUMP SUM

* Death benefits may be paid in lump sum.
 However, only where there is no contingent beneficiary.

* Educators Credit Union v. Gentry, 2005 WL 6136607, at *3 (Tenn. Workers
Comp. Panel Mar. 9, 2005), considered whether “death beneﬁts payable to a
sole surviving spouse can be commuted to a lump sum.’

* Gentry ruled “commutation of death benefits [to lump sum] is limited by
subsections (e)(4) and (8)...[such that]

 “Mrs. Gentry should not be awarded a lump sum because the ultimate sum of all future
benefits payable to her cannot be ascertained at this point, as she may lose her
dependency status at any time prior to the end of the installment payment period. In
cases such as Clayton and Perdue, advance calculation of the aggregate award was not an
issue due to the fact the surviving spouse had a contingent beneficiary who would be
entitled to benefits even if the surviving spouse died or remarried.”




LUMP SUM BENEFITS FOR MINOR KIDS

+ Jones v. General Acc. Ins. Co. of America, 856 S.W.2d 133 (Tenn. 1993):

* “[W]e hold today that death benefits awarded under T.C.A. § 50—6-210 can
be commuted to a lump sum.”

+ “It is illogical to conclude that a living employee providing for dependents
can benefit her family from a periodic payment or a lump sum, but after her
death the family can still benefit from periodic payments but not from a
lump sum. Indeed, it is easy to foresee situations where this result could
impose extreme hardships on surviving dependents.”

* The burden is on the dependent(s) to establish first that a lump sum is in his
or her best interest and second that the dependent(s) is/are capable of
wisely managing and controlling the commuted award.

* Done at Court’s discretion; Jones was distinguished by Gentry.



DO I HAVE TO GET DEATH BENEFIT
PAYMENTS COURT APPROVED<¢

"Yes!

*All Settlements Require Court
Approval!

-Until you do, Pay Benetits in interim

‘What if I don’t know who the
dependents are? Pay first, ask later?



30 DAY LETTERS

. §226

* When the employer makes a voluntary settlement offer in writing to
dependents within 30 days of the employee’s death and offers all benefits...

* Then any attorney representing a dependent can only receive as a fee
reasonable payment for actual time and expenses incurred.



GUARDIAN AD LITEM

* § 221 says spouse has to be the “trustee of the child.”

* But what if there is no surviving spouse? Or there is family discord? Or no

RESPONSIBLE

ENOUGH

- !\

{ 10 KNOW @

I AM IRRESPONSIBLE




GUARDIAN AD LITEM

+ § 238 governs
* CWCC judge has the authority to appoint a G.A.L.
* G.A.L. must be a lawyer.

* G.A.Lsjob is to “advocate for the best interest of the child and ensure that
the child’s concerns and preferences are effectively advocated.”

* Court can award a fee.
- Employers pay the fee. It does not come out of the death benetfit.

* This may cause representation problems for the Plaintiff’s attorney. Who do
they represent?



"ALIEN DEPENDENTS”™

+ § 227 “Alien dependents of deceased employee — Payment to consular officer of

representative — Bond — List of dependents. [Applicable to injuries occurring prior
toEJ)uly 1,2014]”

- This section was deleted in the 2013 Reform Act.
* Now see § 210(f). Basically the same.

 Applies when dependents are “residing outside of the United States.”

* Can still have an ADR as long as the dependent(s) has a representative.

* Consular officer can be required to furnish a sworn statement containing a list of
dependents with the name, age, residence, extent of dependency, and relation of
deceased of each dependent.

- Payments made to “the dul}f accredited consular officer of the country where the
beneficiaries are a citizen.” The consular officer may be required to execute a bond.



REMINDER: § 207(5) DEDUCTIONS

 Example: IW has an injury and collects 4 weeks of TTD, then dies.

* When he dies, it’s a now a different claim. It becomes a death claim, held by
dependents (or the estate).

* Pay death benefits as you would as if he died on the date of injury.

 However, you reduce the death benefits you owe by the 4 weeks of TTD
paid.

* You still pay the meds.
* Now you owe up to either $7,500 or up to $10,000 for burial/funeral.



INSURERS: WHEN INVESTIGATING

* Google the obituary.

* Get a good employer contact, to get a feel for family
dynamics.

- Do not cold call a widow or widower.
- Wait for after the funeral.

 Documents needed: marriage license, kids’ birth certificates
fsta;ohshmg relationship, court documents (divorce, family
aw).

* Explain the law to the surviving spouse.
' Be direct and have compassion.



SUBROGATION INTEREST IN WRONGFUL

DEATH

 Employers: Beware of denials. You may impair your subro lien.

- Hypothetical situation. IW falls from 8% floor of construction site, dies. Emﬁloyer
considers its “safety” defense. When considering, peer into your crystal ball:

- Employer denied the claim on safety. CWCC Trial: IW violated our safety rules.
Claim 1sn’t compensable. At trial, IW’s supervisor confesses on cross
examination he let several prior violations of failures to use a safety harness go
undisciplined. Employee’s tamily prevails.

- Fast forward to the Liability Trial. Employer sits in the corner, hoping the
family wins the wrongtful death claim so it can recover the WC benetfits paid.
Liability defense uses testimony and evidence from the CWCC trial to reduce
or eliminate the value of the case.



MONITORING ONGOING BENEFITS

* Contact the dependents regularly.

- If family is unresponsive, file a Motion. Do not cut off benefits!

Technically I'm not stalking you, I'm
just monitoring

your

every move over

facebook.




"NEVER MESS WITH A

WIDOW?™

The first thing Terry Hill taught me when I started handling death claims.




KIDS" CHANCE

* Kids” Chance of Tennessee is dedicated to financially helping young people
in our state pursue higher education at a university, college or vocational
school who have had a parent catastrophically injured or killed in a work
related accident. We will make a difference in their lives through hope,
opportunity and the providing of educational scholarships. Please help us
fulfill our mission through and help in identifying scholarship
applicants. Kids” Chance of Tennessee is one of many state chapters
atfiliated with the national organization


https://www.kidschanceoftn.org/
http://www.kidschanceoftn.org/support/
https://www.kidschance.org/
mailto:info@kidschanceoftn.org




