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 ) 
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Deana C. Seymour, Judge ) 
 

Affirmed and Certified as Final 
 
The employee-decedent, a healthcare worker, died after contracting COVID-19.  The 
employer and the decedent’s surviving spouse reached an agreement for the payment of 
death benefits pursuant to Tennessee’s Workers’ Compensation Law.  However, the trial 
court declined to approve the settlement because the proposed agreement included a 
calculation of the maximum total benefit that was not consistent with Tennessee Code 
Annotated section 50-6-102(15)(D).  Thereafter, the trial court conducted a compensation 
hearing in which the only issue was the meaning and correct calculation of the maximum 
total benefit.  The trial court concluded the maximum total benefit is calculated by 
multiplying the state’s average weekly wage as of the date of the employee’s death by 450 
weeks.  The employer has appealed.  Upon careful review of the statutes at issue and 
relevant precedent, we affirm the trial court’s order and certify it as final. 
 
Presiding Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which 
Judge Pele I. Godkin joined. 
 
Kevin Washburn, Memphis, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Methodist LeBonheur 
Healthcare 
 
Lawrence Williams, Memphis, Tennessee, surviving spouse-appellee, pro se 

 
Factual and Procedural Background 

 
Linda Williams (“Decedent”), worked for Methodist LeBonheur Healthcare 

(“Employer”) as a sitter and transporter.  On December 2, 2020, Decedent tragically passed 
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away due to “acute COVID-19 pneumonia” and “severe acute hypoxic respiratory failure.”  
Thereafter, Lawrence Williams (“Surviving Spouse”) and Employer reached an agreement 
for the payment of death benefits under Tennessee’s Workers’ Compensation Law.  
Employer produced a wage statement showing an average weekly wage of $616.40 for the 
fifty-two-week period preceding Decedent’s death.1  The proposed settlement agreement 
provided for the payment of fifty percent of Decedent’s average weekly wage to Surviving 
Spouse as the sole dependent, in accordance with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-
6-210(e)(1).  It also provided that Employer’s maximum potential liability, termed the 
“maximum total benefit,” was calculated by multiplying 66 2/3% of Decedent’s average 
weekly wage by 450 weeks.  In the circumstances of the present case, this calculation 
would result in a maximum total benefit of $184,918.50. 

 
When the parties presented the proposed settlement agreement to the trial court, it 

declined to approve the settlement due to Employer’s proposed calculation of the 
maximum total benefit.2  Thereafter, Employer filed a petition and a legal argument 
outlining the basis for its calculation, and the trial court scheduled a compensation hearing 
to address the issue.  Following the hearing, the court issued an order rejecting Employer’s 
calculation of the maximum total benefit and awarding Surviving Spouse death benefits 
with a maximum total benefit of $447,300.00, the calculation mandated by Tennessee Code 
Annotated section 50-6-102(15)(D).  Employer has appealed. 
 

Standard of Review 
 

 The standard we apply in reviewing the trial court’s decision presumes that the 
court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.  
See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2021).  The interpretation and application of 
statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo.  See Mansell v. 
Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013).  We are also 
mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, 
impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way 
that does not favor either the employee or the employer.  Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 
(2021). 
 

Analysis 
 

 The sole issue presented in this appeal is whether the definition of “maximum total 
benefit” contained in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(15)(D) is inconsistent 

 
1 The calculations contained in the wage statement are not disputed in this appeal.  Thus, we accept those 
calculations as accurate and do not address them further. 
 
2 Pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-240, all workers’ compensation settlements must be 
approved by a judge, and judges on the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims have the authority to 
approve or reject a settlement. 
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with the provisions of Tennessee Code Annotated sections 50-6-209 and -210, which set 
out the “maximum compensation” in death cases and the manner in which death benefits 
are paid.  Because the resolution of this issue requires consideration of principles of 
statutory construction, we set out the relevant statutory language as follows: 
 

(A) “Maximum total benefit” means the sum of all weekly benefits to which 
a worker may be entitled; 
 
 . . . . 
 
(D) For injuries occurring on or after July 1, 2014, the maximum total benefit 
shall be four hundred fifty (450) weeks times one hundred percent (100%) of 
the state’s average weekly wage . . . except in instances of permanent total 
disability. 
 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(15) (2021).  When determining the benefits owed to surviving 
dependents, the statute provides: 
 

(1) In all cases of death of an employee covered by this chapter, sixty-six and 
two-thirds percent (66 2/3%) of the average weekly wages shall be paid in 
cases where the deceased worker leaves dependents, subject to the maximum 
weekly benefit. 
 
 . . . . 
 
(3) The total amount of compensation payable under this subsection (b) shall 
not exceed the maximum total benefit exclusive of medical, hospital, and 
funeral benefits. 
 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-209(b) (2021) (emphasis added).  Lastly, when determining the 
method of paying those benefits to the surviving dependents, the statute instructs that “[i]f 
the deceased employee leaves a surviving spouse and no dependent children, there shall be 
paid to the surviving spouse fifty percent (50%) of the average weekly wages of the 
deceased.”  Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-210(e)(1) (2021) (emphasis added). 
 
 We have previously addressed principles of statutory construction that guide our 
analysis: 
 

When construing a statute, our goal is to ascertain and give effect to the 
legislative intent without unduly restricting or expanding a statute’s coverage 
beyond its intended scope.  We determine legislative intent from the natural 
and ordinary meaning of the statutory language within the context of the 
entire statute without any forced or subtle construction that would extend or 
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limit the statute’s meaning. . . . In addition, we must construe a statute so that 
no part will be inoperative, superfluous, void[,] or insignificant.  We are 
required to give effect to every word, phrase, clause[,] and sentence of the 
act in order to achieve the Legislature’s intent[,] and we must construe a 
statute so that no section will destroy another. 
 

Thompson v. Comcast Corp., No. 2017-05-0639, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 
1, at *24-25 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 30, 2018) (internal quotation marks and 
citations omitted). 
 

In the present case, Employer asserts that the definition of “maximum total benefit” 
contained in section 102(15)(D) is inconsistent with the maximum compensation 
provisions applied to death cases in section 209(b).  In Employer’s view, section 50-6-
209(b) “clearly attaches the proper death benefits to be paid to the dependent directly to 
the earnings of the deceased worker, subject to the maximum weekly benefit.”  Employer 
then argues that because subsection 209(b) is a more specific provision applicable to death 
cases, it trumps the more general definition of maximum total benefit contained in section 
50-6-102(15).  See, e.g., Woodroof v. City of Nashville, 192 S.W.2d 1013, 1015 (Tenn. 
1946) (“a statute treating the subject matter in a general manner should not be considered 
as intended to affect the more particular provision”).  Contrary to Employer’s position, we 
conclude that the statutory provisions at issue in this case are not in conflict. 
 
 In cases where the parties agree the employee’s death arose primarily from a 
compensable work accident, two questions must be addressed when calculating a 
dependent’s death benefits: (1) the weekly amount owed to the dependent; and (2) the 
duration of the payments.  The statutory provisions noted above address each of these 
questions separately.  With respect to the weekly amount owed to the dependent, section 
50-6-210(e)(1) specifies that if the dependent is a surviving spouse and there are no 
dependent children, the surviving spouse will receive fifty percent (50%) of the employee’s 
average weekly wage, and subsection 209(b)(1) limits that weekly payment to no more 
than the “maximum weekly benefit.”3  Thus, we agree with Employer that, at least with 
respect to the weekly amount owed, the calculation of the surviving spouse’s weekly 
benefit is tied to the deceased employee’s average weekly wage. 
 
 However, the second question regarding the potential duration of payments is not 
addressed in subsections 209(b)(1) or 210(e)(1).  Instead, section 50-6-209(b)(3) states that 
“[t]he total amount of compensation payable . . . shall not exceed the maximum total 
benefit.”  Further, section 50-6-210(e)(10) provides that “[t]his compensation shall be paid 
during dependency not to exceed the maximum total benefit.”  As noted by the trial court, 
the definition of “maximum total benefit” contained in section 50-6-102(15)(D) expressly 

 
3 The term “maximum weekly benefit” is defined in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(16). 



5 
 

ties the maximum total benefit to the state’s, not the employee’s, average weekly wage.4  
Because these provisions describe an employer’s maximum potential liability, but not the 
rate at which periodic benefits are paid, these definitions impact the potential duration of 
benefits only.  Thus, certain terminating events, such as the death or remarriage of a 
surviving spouse, or reaching the maximum total benefit, impact the duration of the 
payments but not the calculation of the periodic amount owed. 
 
 An analogous issue was addressed by the Tennessee Supreme Court in Jones v. 
General Accident Ins. Co., 856 S.W.2d 133 (Tenn. 1993).  In Jones, the only dependent of 
the deceased worker was a surviving spouse.  Id. at 134.  When the trial court awarded 
death benefits, it specified the surviving spouse was entitled to fifty percent of the 
employee’s average weekly wage until remarriage or the expiration of 400 weeks, 
whichever occurred first.  Id.  On appeal, the Supreme Court rejected this calculation, 
explaining: 
 

[Tennessee Code Annotated] section 50-6-210 does not specifically limit 
death benefits to dependents to any set number of weeks . . . . Thus, even 
though death benefits to dependents are subject to the maximum and 
minimum weekly benefits and maximum total benefit, [section] 50-6-210 
does not place a limit on the number of weeks such benefits are to be paid.  
Consequently, an award of death benefits should continue to be paid beyond 
400 weeks until the maximum total benefit is reached which, in this case, is 
$117,600. 
 

Id. at 135.  The Court then concluded, “We hold that the only limitation on death benefits 
is that the compensation be paid during dependency and must not exceed the maximum 
total benefit.”  Id. 
 
 In Reynolds v. Free Service Tire Co., No. E2014-02233-SC-R3-WC, 2015 Tenn. 
LEXIS 734 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Sept. 16, 2015), the Supreme Court’s Special 
Workers’ Compensation Appeals Panel addressed the issue raised in this appeal.5  In 
rejecting the arguments of the employer in that case, which are similar to Employer’s 
arguments here, the Appeals Panel explained: 
 

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(13)(D) (Supp. 2009) provides 
the maximum total benefit “[f]or injuries occurring on or after July 1, 

 
4 Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(16)(B) provides that the state’s average weekly wage will 
be determined on an annual basis “and shall be adjusted annually using data from the bureau.” 
 
5 We note Employer’s argument that, because Reynolds is an unpublished opinion, it is not controlling 
authority.  We agree it is not controlling authority, but we conclude it is nevertheless persuasive authority.  
See Rule 4(G)(1) of the Rules of the Tennessee Supreme Court (“Unpublished opinions of the Special 
Workers’ Compensation Appeals Panel shall likewise be considered persuasive authority.”). 
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2009 . . . shall be four hundred (400) times one hundred percent (100%) of 
the state’s average weekly wage[.]”  Thus, the maximum total benefit has 
been detached from the individual employee’s earnings and is once again an 
across-the-board figure. 
 

Id. at *8.  The 2013 Workers’ Compensation Reform Act retained the language from the 
2009 version of the definition of “maximum total benefit” tying the calculation to the 
state’s average weekly wage instead of the employee’s average weekly wage, but it 
changed the multiplier from 400 weeks to 450 weeks.  That definition has not been 
amended since 2013 and is applicable to the present case. 
 
 We see no reason to depart from the rationale expressed in Jones and Reynolds, and 
we find no basis to distinguish those cases from the present case.  The calculation of the 
rate at which a surviving spouse receives periodic payments of death benefits is governed 
by different statutory provisions than those governing the duration of those payments.  We 
conclude those provisions are not in conflict.  In accordance with accepted principles of 
statutory construction, we are required to “give effect to every word, phrase, clause[,] and 
sentence of the act in order to achieve the Legislature’s intent[,]” and we must “construe a 
statute so that no section will destroy another.”  Thompson, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App. 
Bd. LEXIS 1, at *25.  Therefore, we conclude that although the rate at which dependents 
receive death benefits is based on the deceased employee’s average weekly wage, the 
potential duration of those payments is not tied to the deceased employee’s wages but is 
instead subject to an across-the-board limitation based on the state’s average weekly wage 
as of the date of death.  The trial court correctly interpreted the relevant statutory provisions 
and, thus, we affirm. 

 
Conclusion 

 
For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial court’s order and certify it as final.  

Costs on appeal are taxed to Employer. 
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