Tennessee Historical Commission

November 9, 2017  Meeting Details

The Tennessee Historical Commission will meet on November 9, 2017, at 10:00 am EST / 9:00 am CST, to determine whether to convene a contested case hearing as provided in Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-223, regarding the Petition for Declaratory Order submitted by the Friends of Fort Negley, Inc. relative to historic Fort Negley located in Nashville, Tennessee.

The meeting will be located in Conference Room B on the 3rd Floor of the William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, Nashville, Tennessee, 37243.

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 8-44-108, allowing meetings to be conducted by electronic or other means under specified circumstances, members will participate via telephone conference call.

Subject to availability of conference lines, the public is allowed to participate in the conference call. To request the telephone number and passcode to access the meeting, please contact Ashlee Pierce at email Ashlee.pierce@tn.gov or 615-770-1085.

The Petition for Declaratory Order requests that the Tennessee Historical Commission issue an order finding that the Fort Negley property, including the land that was previously the location of Greer Stadium, is covered by and included in the Tennessee Heritage Protection Act of 2016 as a memorial. The Petition for Declaratory Order can be accessed here.


October 13, 2017 Meeting Details:

Board Characteristics

Twenty-nine members: 24 appointed by the Governor for terms of five years and 5 ex officio members.  

Members include

  • Governor of Tennessee
  • State Historian
  • State Archaeologist
  • Commissioner of Environment and Conservation
  • State Librarian and Archivist
  • 24 members who shall be equally divided among the three grand divisions of the state

Commissioned under T.C.A. 4-11-102.

The statute authorizing this board expires June 30, 2019 and the one-year wind-down period begins.


Term Expires


Ernie Bacon 10-15-2020 Middle Tennessee
David "Ray" Smith 10-31-2021 East Tennessee
Dr. Douglas Cupples  06-30-2021 West Tennessee
Elizabeth A. Campbell 06-30-2022 Middle Tennessee
Allen F. Carter, Vice-Chair 09-30-2021 East Tennessee
Dr.  Kent Dollar 09-30-2020 Middle Tennessee
Sam D. Elliott 05-31-2020 East Tennessee
Governor Ex Officio Governor of Tennessee
Jeremy S. Harrell 09-30-2020 Middle Tennessee
Yolanda (Loni) Harris 09-30-2019 West Tennessee
Toye Heape 09-30-2019 Middle Tennessee
Don Roe 09-30-2022 West Tennessee
Alpha B. (Tiny) Jones 06-30-2019 Middle Tennessee
Bill Landry 06-30-2021 East Tennessee
Lucy W. Lee 11-15-2020 Middle Tennessee
William Lyons 02-28-2021 East Tennessee
Robert Martineau Ex Officio Commissioner TDEC
Linda Moss Mines 11-15-2020 East Tennessee
Dr. Reavis L. Mitchell, Jr., Chairman 06-30-2019 Middle Tennessee
Joanne Cullom Moore 09-30-2021 West Tennessee
Mike Moore Ex Officio State Archaeologist
Keith Norman 09-30-2020 West Tennessee
Beverly C. Robertson 09-30-2020 West Tennessee
Chuck Sherrill Ex Officio State Librarian and Archivist
Joe Swann 02-28-2021 East Tennessee
Judge David Tipton 09-30-2018 East Tennessee
Dr. Carroll Van West Ex Officio State Historian
Vacant  09-30-2022 West Tennessee
Derita Coleman Williams, Vice-Chair 06-30-2022 West Tennessee